Muzeum Susch › Permanent Installations › Paulina Ołowska

→ SITE - SPECIFIC
PERMANENT INSTALLATIONS

Paulina Ołowska

Cafe Bar (2011 – 2018)

Navigating across 20th-century art and social history, fashion and design, Paulina Ołowska teases out and juxtaposes selected phenomena, trends and epochal figures. Her room in Susch appears as space seemingly out of time, a café in a remote mountain village that has just closed for the season.

At the heart of this multifaceted installation is the reincarnation of a failed café project comissioned by one of Poland’s largest institutions, The National Museum in Kraków. Ołowska came across archival materials concerning the museum café, designed in the 1960s, and only opened in the 1990s. She discovered that although it was a flop with museumgoers, it was fairly popular amongst museum staff. Its only ostensive trace when the artist visited the museum was the logo with a steaming coffee cup – this sign now takes centre stage in the large composition of four painted panels reflected in a glass floor in dialogue with the reflections of smaller paintings installed in the underside of original furniture designed for the café that Ołowska retrieved, restored and altered.

For Cafe Bar at Muzeum Susch the artist has created a space replete with references: the images on the walls, alluding to the early 20th-century Polish avant-garde, were originally conceived in collaboration with artist Lucy McKenzie as posters for a pop-up bar the two ran briefly in Warsaw in 2003 – here, the designs were executed in the locally-popular sgraffito technique. Above the door is a quote in Rumansch Vallader from Sylvia Plath’s novel The Bell Jar.



↘ QUOTES

↘ VIDEOS

↘ MUZEUM SUSCH APP

Muzeum Susch › Permanent Installations › Paulina Ołowska

→ SITE - SPECIFIC
PERMANENT INSTALLATIONS

Paulina Ołowska

Cafe Bar (2011 – 2018)

Paulina Ołowska bewegt sich mit ihren Arbeiten durch die Kunst- und Sozialgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts, oft mit einem Fokus auf Mode und Design, und sie stellt dabei ausgewählte Phänomene, Trends und Epochenfiguren nebeneinander und konfrontiert diese miteinander.

Ihr Raum im MUZEUM SUSCH scheint wie aus der Zeit gefallen – ein Café in einem abgelegenen Bergdorf, das gerade geschlossen hat.Im Mittelpunkt dieser vielschichtigen Installation steht die Reinkarnation des gescheiterten Café-Projekts, das von einer der größten polnischen Institutionen, dem Nationalmuseum in Krakau, in Auftrag gegeben wurde. Ołowska stieß auf Archivmaterial über das Museumscafé, das in den 1960er Jahren entworfen wurde, jedoch erst in den 1990er Jahren realisiert und eröffnet wurde. Sie stellte fest, dass es zwar ein Flop bei den Museumsbesuchern war, aber bei Museumsmitarbeitern recht beliebt. Als die Künstlerin das Museum besuchte, war die einzig sichtbare Spur das verbliebene Logo mit einer dampfenden Kaffeetasse. Dieses Logo steht nun im Mittelpunkt der großen Komposition von vier bemalten Panelen, die sich in dem Glasboden der Installation widerspiegeln. Diese Spiegelungen stehen im Dialog mit den Reflexen kleinerer Gemälde, die an der Unterseite des Originalmobiliars angebracht sind, welches Ołowska wiederbeschafft, restauriert und umgebaut hat.

Für die Cafe Barim MUZEUM SUSCH hat die Künstlerin einen Raum voller Referenzen geschaffen: Die Sgraffitos an den Wänden, die auf die polnische Avantgarde des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts Bezug nehmen, wurden ursprünglich in Zusammenarbeit mit der Künstlerin Lucy McKenzie als Poster für eine Pop-Up-Veranstaltung 2003 in Warschau konzipiert. Über der Tür ist ein Zitat in Rumansch Vallader aus Sylvia Plaths Roman The Bell Jarangebracht, ebenfalls als Sgraffito. Ein Bild im Bild verweist auf die Tradition der Klein-Bühnen in Polen.



↘ QUOTES

↘ VIDEOS

↘ MUZEUM SUSCH APP