Musica Susch

→ MUSICA
SUSCH

‘If you look deep enough’ wrote the philosopher Thomas Carlyle, ‘you will see music; the heart of nature being everywhere music.’


The Swiss self-image is deeply influenced by music; sounds, music and rhythms are crossing cultural boundaries and at the same time they are geographically anchored. What happens to music in the face of nature, in the mountains? The relationship with nature, located between contradiction and harmony, was and is an essential reference point of aesthetic self-determination. Music has the power to restore a natural balance. <Personare> means <to sound through>, the form arises from the formless. Melodic and rhythmic order structures are reflecting the harmonic spectrum of nature.

 

 

Chamber music was originally destined for the princely 'chamber', so the secular-representative space. Unlike the orchestra, the musicians work instrumentally in small, limited formations for the virtuoso expansion of musical means. The frame determines the content, and the intimate space the perception. When we speak of 'tone', both sound as well as matter are being activated. When images are created in our thoughts and the space becomes the body of sound, then music becomes the connecting element of the physical and intellectual experience of time, ideas and connections. Musica Susch wants to follow these lines of tone and within this unique series we want to engage between tradition and new developments - 'High culture in high nature' as recently a report on the activities of the museum in the ZDF / 3SAT was headlined.

With a series of 6 chamber concerts throughout the year, a new tradition is to be established reviving the genre and appealing to new audiences beyond the borders of the Engadin. Within the programme we would want to go on exploration trails - in the auditorium of Muzeum Susch, with the view of the alpine landscape and on the foundation of the old monastery walls, with a selection of outstanding ensembles, balancing between established ("known") and new / young ensembles.

Given the expanded role that museums play in research and education today, we are committed to the creation of content beyond exhibition making, a "museum plus ", which is characterized by the results of this broad commitment, the interdisciplinary collaboration and by creating a unique framework in which new ideas are promoted. Here we hope with the inclusion of music in the supporting programme to expanding our publics and the reference area in which we locate ourselves in Susch.

The programme is oriented along the great canon of string quartet literature, and to start off, we invite you to an evening with the Szymanovsky Quartet, on January 4, 2020 at 6 pm.

You can download the programme of the evening here; tickets cost 50 CHF and can be pre-ordered by email at info@muzeumsusch.ch or they are available at the box office. Since space is limited, we recommend placing a timely pre-order.


The concert series is significantly supported by Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne.



↘ Programme

Musica Susch

→ MUSICA
SUSCH

"Schau tief genug", schrieb der Philosoph Thomas Carlyle, "und du schaust in musikalischen Klängen. Das Herz der Natur ist Musik, überall - wenn du sie nur fassen kannst.”

Das Schweizer Selbstverständnis ist zutiefst geprägt durch Musik; Klänge, Musik und Rhythmen sind kulturübergreifend und gleichzeitig geografisch verankert. Was geschieht mit der Musik im Angesicht der Natur, in den Bergen? Das Verhältnis zur Natur, angesiedelt zwischen Widerspruch und Harmonie, war und ist ein wesentlicher Bezugspunkt ästhetischer Selbstbestimmungen. Musik trägt in sich die Kraft, eine natürliche Balance wiederherzustellen. ‹Personare› heisst hindurchklingen, Form entsteht aus dem Formlosen. Melodische und rhythmische Ordnungsstrukturen spiegeln das harmonische Spektrum der Natur.

 

 

Kammermusik war ursprünglich für die fürstliche ‘Kammer’, also den weltlich-repräsentativen Raum, bestimmt. Anders als im Orchester, arbeiten die Musiker in kleiner, begrenzter Besetzung instrumental an der virtuosen Erweiterung der musikalischen Mittel. Der Rahmen bestimmt den Inhalt, und der intime Raum die Wahrnehmung. Wenn wir von ’Ton’ sprechen, wird sowohl Klang als auch Materie aktiviert. Wenn Bilder im Kopf entstehen und der Raum zum Klangkörper wird, wird die Musik zum verbindenden Element der physischen und intellektuellen Erfahrung von Zeit, Ideen und Zusammenhängen. Musica Susch möchte diesen Klanglinien folgen und mit diesem einzigartigen Angebot im Engadin zwischen Tradition und neuen Entwicklungen vermitteln – ‘Hochkultur in Hochnatur’ wie jüngst ein Bericht über die Aktivitäten des Museums im ZDF / 3SAT titelte.

Mit einer Serie von 6 Kammerkonzerten im Jahr soll eine neue Tradition begründet werden, die das Genre belebt und neue Zielgruppen über die Grenzen des Engadins hinaus anspricht. Mit der Serie wollen wir uns auf Erkundungspfade begeben - im Auditorium des Muzeum Susch mit dem Ausblick auf die alpine Landschaft und auf dem Fundament der alten Klostermauern, mit einer Auswahl herausragender Ensembles, ausgewogen zwischen etablierten („bekannten“) und neuen/jungen Ensembles.

In Anbetracht der erweiterten Rolle, die Museen heutzutage für Forschung und Lehre spielen, engagieren wir uns für die Schaffung von Inhalten jenseits des Ausstellungsbetriebs, ein "Museum plus", das geprägt wird durch die Ergebnisse dieses breiten Engagements und der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit und einen einzigartigen Rahmen schafft, in dem neue Ideen gefördert werden. Hier hoffen wir mit der Einbeziehung von Musik in das Rahmenprogramm auf eine Erweiterung des Publikums und des Bezugsraums, in dem wir uns in Susch verorten.

Das Programm orientiert sich entlang dem grossen Kanon der Streichquartett-Literatur und zum Auftakt laden wir zu einem Abend mit dem Szymanovsky Quartet ein, am 4. Januar 2020 um 18 Uhr.

Das Programm des Abends können Sie hier herunterladen; die Karten kosten 50 CHF und können vorbestellt werden per Email unter info@muzeumsusch.ch oder sie sind an der Abendkasse erhältlich. Da die Platzzahl begrenzt ist, empfehlt sich eine Vorbestellung.

Die Konzertreihe wird massgeblich unterstützt von der Art Mentor Foundation Luzern.



↘ Programm