Muzeum Susch › Temporary Exhibitions › Upcoming › 'Up to and Including Limits: After Carolee Schneemann'

→ MUZEUM
SUSCH

Up to and Including Limits: After Carolee Schneemann

Curated by Sabine Breitwieser

   

29 December 2019 – 28 June 2020

   
 

Taking the influential work of the late American artist Carolee Schneemann (1939–2019) as a point of departure, this exhibition will illuminate how Schneemann’s artistic legacy resonates in the work of generations of artists succeeding her. Featuring over 60 works by 13 artists and collectives, spanning from the 1980s to the present-day, in dialogue with ten seminal works by Schneemann, the exhibition examines the shifting boundaries of disciplines, medium and content in art over time and how these media and thematic boundaries remain under discussion in contemporary art.

 

Carolee Schneemann, Controlled Burning: Fireplace, 1963–1964, courtesy of the Estate of Carolee Schneemann, Galerie Lelong & Co., Hales Gallery, and P•P•O•W, New York © Carolee Schneemann 

  

Schneemann worked across various medias ranging from painting, assemblage, to performance, film, video and photograph but primarily understood herself as a painter. She created new forms of art that emerged as paintings literally set in motion. Using her own body, the artist’s expansive choreographies and installations evolved into what she coined ‘kinetic theatre’. In addition to her experimental and multidisciplinary approach to artistic media, Schneemann explored how she “can be image and image-maker” and created experimental photographs and films also featuring herself. She examined her role in society, and struggle for recognition as a woman artist and emancipated and re-determined the representation of women in art through reclaiming the image of the female body. The title of the exhibition is taken from one of her seminal pieces, Up to and Including Her Limits (1973-1976), a work she performed several times before it became transformed into a video installation. By introducing personal subjects, in particular sex and lust from a woman’s perspective, like in her film Fuses (1964-1967), Schneemann challenged traditional and patriarchal attitudes towards nudity and sexuality.

 

Up to and Including Limits: After Carolee Schneemann is curated by Sabine Breitwieser, former Director of the Museum der Moderne Salzburg, where she originated the 2015 exhibition ‘Carolee Schneemann, Kinetic Painting’, which toured to the Museum für Moderne Kunst MMK, Frankfurt am Main and MoMA PS1, New York. Breitwieser explains: “This exhibition is driven by limits, both in media and society: how they can be overcome, transformed and transgressed through time. While Carolee’s goal was to extend visual principles off the canvas and into life, this exhibition also considers the new challenges and limits our society is confronted with. We are exploring how and in which forms the expansive and innovative use of artistic media further emerge in works of the generation ‘after Carolee Schneemann’ and what kind of questions in regards to the body are at stake.”

 

This exhibition evaluates how after ground-breaking changes in the 1960/70s, with Schneemann as a pioneer amongst feminist artists, media expansion and the emancipated body are a subject for contemporary artists. What changes has the representation of the body, especially our understanding of it, undergone in the meantime? What new questions are raised today when artists work with their bodies or address them in their socio-political context? Were the generations "after Carolee Schneemann" able to use artistic media, including the body of the artist, and to further innovatively expand their methods? Schneemann's art was experimental and ahead of its time, some works were seen as highly provocative and provoked controversy. This exhibition gives us an opportunity to examine how we deal today with new manifestations and expanded contents in art, with images of nudity and sexuality especially of the female body, while the latter are already ubiquitous in public and digital space.

 

The exhibition is organised as a parcours across the four floors of Muzeum Susch, proposing dialogues between seminal works by Schneemann and works by artists of following generations, mirroring Schneemann’s multidisciplinary and multimedia approach.

 

There will be life performances during the opening and the closing weekend. Echoing Schneemann’s use of body as medium, Chicks on Speed will premiere Noise Bodies (2019), a music-performance inspired by Schneemann’s work of the same name created in 1965 using vernacular objects mounted on the body. The live performance will be recorded and transformed as an immersive installation in the exhibition. There will also be a live performance of Paulina Ołowska’s large-scale outdoor work, Slavic Goddesses (2017/2019), drawing inspiration from modernist utopias in America and Eastern Europe to prompt reflections on feminism and consumerism.

 

Raising dialogue across multiple selected works of art is Schneemann’s Meat Joy (1964/2008), in which an ensemble of men and women perform orchestrated movements with lighting, sound, and flesh as material in all conceivable forms, from raw fish and chicken to plastic, ropes, paper scrap and paint, what the artists called an “opulently ecstatic erotic rite”. Both Ragnar Kjartansson’s Variation on Meat Joy (2013) and Mette Ingvartsen’s 69 Positions (2014) directly refer to this work. The latter is part of the Ingvartsen’s The Red Pieces series, exploring relationships between sexuality and the public sphere, and will premier as a video after its celebrated original live performances. Similarly, early works of Pipilotti Rist, who likes to refer to Schneemann and challenges notions of women and sexual desire in popular culture, are included in the show.

 

In considering the artist’s expanded notion of artistic medium, the exhibition also challenges the boundaries embedded in Schneemann’s own work. Schneemann’s Vulva’s Morphia (1995) is shown in juxtaposition with works by Katrina Daschner, among them Zuhälter (1999), a series of collages of knitted body applications, addressing Schneemann’s heteronormative perspective. Up to and Including Limits: After Carolee Schneemann shares the ground broken by the artist and the boundaries left to be challenged by artists of our current time.



↘ List of artists

Muzeum Susch › Temporäre Ausstellungen › Kommende Ausstellung › 'Up to and Including Limits: After Carolee Schneemann'

→ MUZEUM
SUSCH

Up to and Including Limits: After Carolee Schneemann

Kuratiert von Sabine Breitwieser

   

29. Dezember 2019 – 28. Juni 2020

     

    Diese Ausstellung nimmt das innovative und einflussreiche Werk der verstorbenen amerikanischen Künstlerin Carolee Schneemann (1939–2019) als Ausgangspunkt, um zu zeigen, welchen Widerhall es bei nachfolgenden Generationen von Künstler*innen findet. Mit über 60 Werken von 13 Künstler*innen und Kollektiven, von den 1980er-Jahren bis heute und im Dialog mit zehn wegweisenden Werken Schneemanns, wird darin veranschaulicht, wie sich die Grenzen von Disziplinen, Medien und Inhalten in der Kunst verschoben haben und in welcher Form mediale und thematische Grenzen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst nach wie vor ein Thema sind.


    Carolee Schneemann, Controlled Burning: Fireplace, 1963–1964, courtesy of the Estate of Carolee Schneemann, Galerie Lelong & Co., Hales Gallery, and P•P•O•W, New York © Carolee Schneemann

       

    Carolee Schneemann arbeitete medienübergreifend, ausgehend von Malerei und Assemblage über Performance bis zu Film, Video und Fotografie, sie verstand sich aber stets als Malerin. Sie schuf neue Kunstformen indem sie Gemälde buchstäblich in Bewegung versetzte. Schließlich brachte sie ihren eigenen Körper in umfangreichen Choreografien und Installationen ein und prägte dafür den Begriff des „kinetischen Theaters“. Neben ihrem experimentellen und multidisziplinären Umgang mit künstlerischen Medien stellte sich Schneemann die Frage, wie sie gleichzeitig „Bild und Bildschöpferin sein kann“ und schuf experimentelle fotografische und filmische Arbeiten über sich selbst. Sie reflektierte über ihre Rolle in der Gesellschaft, insbesondere über ihren Kampf um Anerkennung als Künstlerin, und emanzipierte und bestimmte die Repräsentation der Frau in der Kunst neu, indem sie sich das Bild des weiblichen Körpers wiederaneignete. Der Titel der Ausstellung stammt von einer ihrer wegweisenden Arbeiten, Up to and Including Her Limits (1973–1976), eine Performance, die sie über längere Zeiträume und mehrmals aufgeführt hat, bevor diese in eine Videoinstallation mündete. Mit persönlichen Thematiken, insbesondere Sex und Lust aus der Sicht der Frau, wie in ihrem Film Fuses (1964–1967), stellte Schneemann traditionelle und patriarchalische Wahrnehmungen von Nacktheit und Sexualität in Frage.

     

    Up to and Including Limits: After Carolee Schneemann ist kuratiert von Sabine Breitwieser, der ehemaligen Direktorin des Museums der Moderne Salzburg, wo sie 2015 die Ausstellung „Carolee Schneemann: Kinetic Painting“ verantwortete, die danach im Museum für Moderne Kunst MMK, Frankfurt am Main, und im MoMA PS1, New York, gezeigt wurde. Breitwieser erläutert, dass „diese Ausstellung von Grenzsetzungen angetrieben wird, sowohl in künstlerischen Medien als auch in der Gesellschaft: wie diese überwunden, verändert und im Laufe der Zeit überschritten werden. Während es das Ziel von Schneemann war, visuelle Prinzipien von der Leinwand ins Leben zu übertragen, setzt sich diese Ausstellung mit neuen Herausforderungen und Grenzen unserer Gesellschaft auseinander. Wir untersuchen darin, wie und in welchen Formen sich die expansive und innovative Nutzung künstlerischer Medien in Werken der Generationen „nach Carolee Schneemann“ weiter entwickelte und welche Fragen im Hinblick auf den Körper heute zur Debatte stehen.“

     

    Die Ausstellung erkundet, wie nach den bahnbrechenden Veränderungen in den 1960/70er-Jahren mit Schneemann als Pionierin unter den feministischen Künstlerinnen, Themen der medialen Erweiterung und des emanzipierten Körpers in der Kunst bearbeitet werden. Welche Veränderungen hat die Darstellung des Körpers, insbesondere unser Verständnis desselbigen inzwischen erfahren? Welche neuen Fragen werden heute aufgeworfen, wenn Künstler*innen mit ihrem Körper arbeiten oder diesen in seinem sozialpolitischen Zusammenhang thematisieren? Konnten die Generationen „nach Carolee Schneemann“ die Nutzung von künstlerischen Medien, der Körper miteingeschlossen, und ihre Methoden weiter innovativ ausbauen? Schneemanns Kunst war experimentell und ihrer Zeit voraus, einige Arbeiten wurden als provokativ aufgefasst und riefen Kontroversen hervor. Diese Ausstellung gibt uns Gelegenheit zu überprüfen, wie wir heute mit neuen Erscheinungsformen und erweiterten Inhalten von Kunst, mit Bildern von Nacktheit und Sexualität insbesondere des weiblichen Körpers umgehen, während letztere im öffentlichen und digitalen Raum bereits allgegenwärtig sind.

     

    Die Ausstellung ist als Rundgang über die vier Stockwerke des Muzeum Susch angelegt und als Dialog zwischen wegweisenden Werken von Schneemann und Werken von Künstler*innen nachfolgender Generationen gestaltet. Die ausgewählten Kunstwerke spiegeln Schneemanns multidisziplinären und multimedialen Ansatz wider.

     

    Am Eröffnungstag und zum letzten Ausstellungswochenende finden Performances statt. Chicks on Speed werden in Anlehnung an Schneemanns Einsatz des Körpers als Medium Noise Bodies (2019) uraufführen, eine Musik-Performance, die vom gleichnamigem Werk der Künstlerin von 1965 inspiriert ist, in dem diese mit Alltagsgegenständen am Körper operierte. Die Performance im Muzeum Susch wird aufgezeichnet und als immersive Installation in der Ausstellung umgesetzt. Des weiteren wird Paulina Ołowskas Performance Slavic Goddesses (2017/2019[vn1] ), inspiriert von modernistischen Utopien in Amerika und Osteuropa, um Reflexionen über Feminismus und Konsumdenken anzuregen, aufgeführt.

     

    In Dialog mit einer Reihe von Werken steht Schneemanns Choreografie Meat Joy (1964), in der ein Ensemble von Männern und Frauen orchestrierte Bewegungen aufführte – mit Licht, Klang und „Fleisch“ als Material in allen erdenklichen Formen, von rohem Fisch und Huhn über Plastik, Seile, Papierschnipsel und Farbe, das von der Künstlerin als „opulent ekstatischen erotischen Ritus“ bezeichnet wurde. Sowohl Ragnar Kjartanssons Variation on Meat Joy (2013) als auch Mette Ingvartsens 69 Positionen (2014) nehmen direkt Bezug auf diese legendäre Arbeit von Schneemann. In ihrer Reihe The Red Pieces setzt sich Ingvartsen mit der Beziehung zwischen Sexualität und Öffentlichkeit auseinander, und nach den gefeierten originalen Live-Auftritten kommen zwei Werke davon hier in Susch als Video zur Uraufführung. Ebenso werden frühe Arbeiten von Pipilotti Rist zu sehen sein, die sich auch gerne auf Schneemann bezieht und deren Arbeiten die Vorstellung von Frauen und deren sexuellem Begehren in der Populärkultur herausfordern.

     

    Mit Blick auf den erweiterten Begriff des künstlerischen Mediums hinterfragt die Ausstellung auch die Grenzen, die in Schneemanns Werk eingebettet sind. Schneemanns Vulva's Morphia (1995) wird in Gegenüberstellung mit Katrina Daschners Arbeiten gezeigt, darunter Zuhälter (1999) gezeigt, einer Reihe von Collagen von gestrickten Körperapplikationen, die sich mit Schneemanns heteronormativer Perspektive auseinandersetzen. Up to and Including Limits: After Carolee Schneemann bewegt sich in dem von der Künstlerin geschaffenen Bedeutungsraum und zeigt die Grenzen, die von zeitgenössischen Künstler*innen heute in Frage gestellt werden.  



    ↘ Künstlerliste