Acziun Susch › Archive of Events › 2020 › MEET the ARTIST: Eszter Salamon 'Voices and Witches'

→ ACZIUN
SUSCH

MEET the ARTIST: Eszter Salamon 'Voices and Witches'

1 August 2020 / 15.00 / Auditorium / free entrance

MEET the ARTIST: dance artist Eszter Salamon in lecture-performance on life and work of seminal avant-garde choreographer Valeska Gert and possible connections between the works by Evelyne Axell, Valeska Gert and herself. Examining artistic stances and practice of Gert’s, Eszter Salamon reflects on filming her new project inside Evelyne Axell exhibition and how it brings the chance for creating transgenerational connections and drawing a feminist genealogy - both the important questions of Eszter’s own artistic practice.

 

 

Eszter Salamon is an artist, choreographer, and performer. She lives and works between Berlin and Paris. In January 2020, she started a Ph.D. research fellowship at the National Academy of the Arts, KHiO, in Oslo. She is the laureate of the Evens Art Prize 2019.

Salamon uses choreography as an activating and organizing agency between various media such as image, sound, music, text, voice, bodily movement, and actions. Her works evolve through various formats and aesthetics, methodologies and poetics, and put to work a wide spectrum of expressions.

Since 2001 she has created numerous solos and larger scale works that have been presented in performing arts venues and festivals internationally. She is also frequently invited to present her work in museums, including Museo Reina Sofía, Madrid (ES), MoMA (USA), Fondation Cartier (FR), Serralves Foundation (PT), Museum der Moderne Salzburg (AT), Akademie der Künste Berlin (DE), KINDL (DE), mumok (AT). Her exhibition Eszter Salamon 1949 was presented in 2014 at Jeu de Paume (F) as part of Satellite curated by Nataša Petrešin-Bachelez.

www.esztersalamon.net

Acziun Susch › Upcoming Events › MEET the ARTIST: Eszter Salamon 'Voices and Witches'

→ ACZIUN
SUSCH

MEET the ARTIST: Eszter Salamon 'Voices and Witches'

1. August 2020 / 15:00 / Auditorium / Eintritt frei

 

MEET the ARTIST: Tanzkünstlerin Eszter Salamon reflektiert in einer Lecture-Performance über Leben und Werk der wegweisenden Avantgarde-Choreografin Valeska Gert und über mögliche Verbindungen zwischen den Werken von Evelyne Axell, Valeska Gert und ihrem eigenen. Sie untersucht Gerts künstlerische Positionen und Praxis und erzählt von den Dreharbeiten zu ihrem neuen Projekt innerhalb der Ausstellung von Evelyne Axells Werken. Dabei fragt sie sich, wie sich generationenübergreifende Verbindungen herstellen und eine feministische Genealogie schaffen lassen – beides wichtige Fragen in Eszters eigener künstlerischer Praxis.

Eszter Salamon ist Künstlerin, Choreografin und Performerin. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Paris. Im Januar 2020 erhielt sie ein Forschungsstipendium der Nationalen Kunsthochschule KHiO in Oslo. Ausserdem ist sie Preisträgerin des Evens Art Prize 2019.

Salamon nutzt die Choreographie als aktivierende und organisierende Instanz zwischen verschiedenen Ausdrucksformen wie Bild, Ton, Musik, Text, Stimme, Bewegung und Handlung. Ihre Werke bedienen sich verschiedener Formate und Ästhetiken, Methodologien und Poetiken sowie eines breiten Spektrums an Ausdrucksformen.

Seit 2001 hat sie zahlreiche Solos und umfangreichere Werke geschaffen, die an internationalen Theater- und Tanzhäusern sowie auf Festivals präsentiert wurden. Zudem wurden ihre Arbeiten in zahlreichen Museen gezeigt, unter anderem im Museo Reina Sofía in Madrid (ES), im MoMA (USA), in der Fondation Cartier (FR), in der Serralves Foundation (PT), im Museum der Moderne Salzburg (AT), in der Akademie der Künste Berlin (DE), im KINDL (DE) und im mumok (AT). Ihre Ausstellung Eszter Salamon 1949 war 2014 Teil des Programms Satellite, kuratiert von Nataša Petrešin-Bachelez im Jeu de Paume (F).

www.esztersalamon.net