Acziun Susch › noish ~ by Maria Zimpel

→ ACZIUN
SUSCH

noish ~ by Maria Zimpel

15 & 16 February 2019

ACZIUN SUSCH is launched on invitation of the founder Grażyna Kulczyk and curator Joanna Leśnierowska with a performance by Maria Zimpel - Warsaw-based dancer and choreographer working extensively with somatic body practices and improvisation. Focused on exploring the limits of physicality and emotional corporeality, Zimpel developed a unique language of expression which gained her critical acclaim and international repute. With her idiosyncratic, lyrical, (and mostly solo) performances, she references the Canadian-born American painter Agnes Martin, boldly declaring her practice to be Abstract Expressionism. 

In Susch, Zimpel will present noish~, a choreography realization co-produced by Art Stations Foundation PL and previously selected as one of the most interesting works by voices of European Platform of Dance professionals Aerowaves (2016).

 

 

Maria Zimpel
noish ~

In noish ~ [commotion in moderation] the sensitive body filters noise through itself, intensifying within the space the breaking down of all [her] becomings. There is no „I” – the self solely witness. Music intensifies the process. Dance and music intertwine and all we see is the vibration of the shell, never the cracking.

concept, choreography, dance: Maria Zimpel
music live: Bryan Eubanks
Production support: Art Station Foundation by Grażyna Kulczyk/Old Brewery New Dance & PERFORMAT series of City Gallery Arsenal, Poznan.
duration: 35 min.

 

Maria Zimpel (PL) – dancer and choreographer, Zimpel studied Dance, Choreography and Context at HZT at Berlin University of the Arts. In 2009, she was a recipient of DanceWeb Scholarship. Among Zimpel’s many collaborations is one with Kat Valastur, for whom she worked as a leading dancer in multiple productions. For her own creations, she continues working with American musician and composer Bryan Eubanks. Her past solo performances include „Pure Matter”, „Epic”, „What do you really miss?” (within Solo Project by Art Stations Foundation), „s c a t t e r”, as well as „noish~” and the katest „Body and Fiction” (2018). „What do you really miss? (3,2)” – a trio produced by Art Stations Foundation, which entered finale of the prestigious competition Danse Elargie at Theatre de la Ville in Paris. Zimpel currently lives and works in Warsaw, Poland.

Bryan Eubanks (USA) - musician and composer, primarily an autodidact, he received an MFA in 2012 from the Milton Avery School of the Arts at Bard College. Eubanks works with electronics and acoustics for small ensembles, solo instruments, and custom generative software. He also improvises in collaboration (i.e. with Maria Zimpel) and develops sound installations and diffusion techniques using acoustic holography. Since 2001, he has participated in many collaborative projects and presented his work internationally. He has lived and worked in Portland and New York City, and is currently based in Berlin, Germany.



↘ QUOTES

Acziun Susch › Veranstaltungsarchiv › noish ~ by Maria Zimpel

→ ACZIUN
SUSCH

noish ~ by Maria Zimpel

15. & 16. Februar 2019

ACZIUN SUSCH beginnt auf Einladung der Gründerin Grażyna Kulczyk und der Kuratorin Joanna Leśnierowska mit einer Performance von Maria Zimpel, einer in Warschau lebenden Tänzerin und Choreografin, die sich intensiv mit somatischer Praxis und Improvisationen auseinandersetzt. Zimpel konzentriert sich auf die Erkundung der Grenzen der physischen und emotionalen Körperlichkeit und entwickelte dafür eine einzigartige Ausdruckssprache, die kritische, internationale Würdigung erfuhr.Mit ihren eigenwilligen, lyrischen, (und zumeist Solo-) Auftritten verweist sie auf die in Kanada geborene US-amerikanische Malerin Agnes Martin, die ihre Praxis selbstbewusst als Abstrakten Expressionismus bezeichnete.

In Susch wird Zimpel noish ~ vorstellen, eine von der Art Stations Foundation PL co-produzierte Choreografie, die bei ihrer Premiere im Jahr 2016 als eines der interessantesten Werke von Aerowaves, der europäischen Plattform für Tanzprofis, ausgewählt wurde.

 

 

Maria Zimpel
noish ~

‘Noish ~ [commotion in moderation]’ - eine Performance, in der der empfindsame Körper das Geräusch durch sich selbst filtert und im Raum den Zusammenbruch (seines/ihres) Werdens verstärkt. Es gibt kein „Ich“ - das Selbst ist nur ein Zeuge. Musik intensiviert den Prozess, Tanz und Musik verflechten sich und alles, was wir sehen, ist die Vibration der äusseren Schale, niemals das Aufbrechen.

Konzept, Choreografie, Tanz: Maria Zimpel
Livemusik: Bryan Eubanks
Produktion: mit Unterstützung der Art Station Foundation by Grażyna Kulczyk/Old Brewery New Dance & der PERFORMAT Serie der City Gallery Arsenal, Poznan.
Dauer: 35 min.

 

Maria Zimpel (PL) - Tänzerin und Choreografin, Zimpel studierte Tanz, Choreografie und Kontext am HZT an der Universität der Künste, Berlin. 2009 erhielt sie ein DanceWeb-Stipendium. Zu Zimpels zahlreichen Kooperationspartnern gehört Kat Valastur, für die sie als Tänzerin in mehreren Produktionen tätig war. Für ihre eigenen Kreationen arbeitet Zimpel wiederholt mit dem amerikanischen Musiker und Komponisten Bryan Eubanks zusammen. Zu ihren bisherigen Solo-Performances gehörten Pure Matter, Epic, Was vermissen Sie wirklich? (Im Rahmen des Solo-Projekts der Art Stations Foundation), Scatter sowie noish ~ und Body and Fiction (2018). Was vermisst du wirklich? (3,2) war ein von der Art Stations Foundation PL produziertes Trio, das bis in das Finale des prestigeträchtigen Wettbewerbs Danse Elargie am Theater de la Ville in Paris gelangte. Zimpel lebt und arbeitet derzeit in Warschau, Polen.

Bryan Eubanks (USA) - Musiker und Komponist, zunächst Autodidakt erhielt er 2012 einen MFA von der Milton Avery School of the Arts am Bard College. Eubanks arbeitet mit elektronischen und akustischen Effekten für kleine Ensembles, Soloinstrumente und mit benutzerdefinierter generativer Software. Er improvisiert auch in Kollaborationen (zum Beispiel mit Maria Zimpel) und entwickelt Klanginstallationen und Diffusionstechniken unter Verwendung der akustischen Holographie. Seit 2001 hat er an vielen Projekten teilgenommen und seine Arbeiten international präsentiert. Er hat in Portland und New York City gelebt und gearbeitet und lebt derzeit in Berlin.



↘ QUOTES