Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Jule Flierl / DE

Jule Flierl

Catalogue des Faux-Pas/Catalogue of false steps

In her search for the next step, for the correct step, Choreographer Jule Flierl meets many interestingly wrong steps, undiplomatic and tricky.

Together with Dancer/Writer Parvathi Ramanathan, Sound Artist Edka Jarząb and choreographer Mariagiulia Serantoni, she researches various techniques of rhythm and foot centered dances and brings them in relation to politicized speech and historic quotes. In the Catalogue of false steps, they search for a percussive rhetoric, that plays between physical and verbal articulation, questioning the interrelation of speech-form and speech-content.

Jule Flierl is an artist from Berlin/Germany who works with choreography and the voice. Using choreography and somatic singing methods, her scores unsettle the relationship between seeing and hearing: what you see is not always what you hear, and what you hear is not always what you see. She revives and continues the legacy of Valeska Gert, avant-garde dancer from 1920's Berlin, who first conceptualized the genre Tontanz: to dance with one's voice.

Jule is fascinated how conceptions of the body change over time and that the voice as a technology of the self always finds new relations to the body.She asks herself how the baroque Bel-Canto voice would inhabit the gestures of romantic ballet (Operation Orpheus 2016), how the anti propaganda of Valeska Gert’s dancing tones in the Weimar Republic would have sounded (Störlaut 2018) and how to choreograph the separation of body image and vocal sound of Katalin Ladik’s avant-garde performances during the Cold War (U.F.O. 2021).

Her work was featured at Impulstanz Vienna 2021/2018/2016, Tanzplattform Munich 2020, Steirischer Herbst Graz 2019, NEXT Valencienne 2018, Legs/La Raffinerie Brussels 2018 and Rencontres Chorégraphiques Paris 2018, La Panacée Montpellier 2016, Tanztage Berlin 2016 amongst others. She worked with Meg Stuart, Tino Sehgal, Martin Nachbar, Gintersdorfer/Klassen and Anna Nowicka a.o. Currently she collaborates with choreographer Antonia Baehr on “Die Hörposaune / the hearing trombone”, which was shown as live performance and as a short film in autumn 2022.

2015 she received the DanceWeb Scholarship for Impulstanz/Vienna. In 2016 she was introduced as “newcomer” and in 2018 she was nominated as “hope for dance” in the German “Tanz” Magazin. In 2019 she received the award for best choreography at the Solo Choreografico Festival Frankfurt am Main for “Dissociation Study”.

Jule graduated from SEAD-Salzburg academy for contemporary dance, holds an MA in choreography at EXERCE Montpellier and continually studies the somatic voice method “Lichtenberger Methode”. She initiated and co-hosts the voice performance series FROM BREATH TO MATTER in Berlin since 2017 and recently co-published a Podcast of interviews with artists who interweave voice and choreography as continuation of the live event series.

https://juleflierl.weebly.com

https://www.frombreathtomatter.com

Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Jule Flierl / DE

Jule Flierl

Catalogue des Faux-Pas/Katalog der Fehlschritte

Auf der Suche nach dem nächsten Schritt- nach dem richtigen Schritt- durchläuft Choreografin Jule Flierl einen Katalog interessanter Fehlschritte, undiplomatisch und verfänglich.

Jule Flierl ist eine Künstlerin aus Berlin/Deutschland, die mit Choreografie und Stimme arbeitet. Mit Hilfe von Choreografie und somatischen Gesangsmethoden bringen ihre Partituren das Verhältnis zwischen Sehen und Hören ins Wanken: Was man sieht, ist nicht immer das, was man hört, und was man hört, ist nicht immer das, was man sieht. Sie belebt das Erbe von Valeska Gert, einer Avantgarde-Tänzerin aus dem Berlin der 1920er Jahre, die als erste das Genre TonTanz konzipierte: mit der Stimme zu tanzen.

Jule ist davon fasziniert, wie sich die Vorstellungen vom Körper im Laufe der Zeit verändern und dass die Stimme als Technologie des Selbst immer wieder neue Beziehungen zum Körper findet.Sie fragt sich, wie die barocke Bel-Canto-Stimme die Gesten des romantischen Balletts bevölkern würde (Operation Orpheus 2016), wie die Anti-Propaganda von Valeska Gerts Tanztönen in der Weimarer Republik geklungen hätte (Störlaut 2018) und wie man die Trennung von Körperbild und Stimmklang von Katalin Ladiks Avantgarde-Performances während des Kalten Krieges choreografieren könnte (U.F.O. 2021).

Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem bei Impulstanz Wien 2021/2018/2016, Tanzplattform München 2020, Steirischer Herbst Graz 2019, NEXT Valencienne 2018, Legs/La Raffinerie Brüssel und Rencontres Chorégraphiques Paris 2018, La Panacée Montpellier 2016, Tanztage Berlin 2016 gezeigt. Sie arbeitete u.a. mit Meg Stuart, Tino Sehgal, Martin Nachbar, Gintersdorfer/Klassen und Anna Nowicka. Aktuell arbeitet sie mit der Choreografin Antonia Baehr an "Die Hörposaune / the hearing trombone", das 2022 als Filminstallation und schließlich auch als Live-Performance zu sehen war.

2015 erhielt sie das DanceWeb-Stipendium für Impulstanz/Wien. 2016 wurde sie als "Newcomer" und 2018 als "Hoffnungsträgerin für den Tanz im "Tanz"-Magazin vorgestellt. 2019 erhielt sie den Preis für die beste Choreografie beim Solo Choreografico Festival Frankfurt am Main für "Dissociation Study".

Jule ist Absolventin der SEAD-Salzburg Akademie für zeitgenössischen Tanz, hat einen MA.Pro in Choreographie von EXERCE Montpellier und studiert kontinuierlich die somatische Stimmmethode "Lichtenberger Methode". Sie ist Initiatorin und Co-Moderatorin der Stimm-Performance-Reihe FROM BREATH TO MATTER in Berlin seit 2017 und hat kürzlich einen Podcast mit Interviews mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, die Stimme und Choreografie miteinander verweben, als Fortsetzung der Live-Event-Reihe mitveröffentlicht.

https://juleflierl.weebly.com 

https://www.frombreathtomatter.com