Acziun Susch › Upcoming Events › 4/03 Alexandra Bachzetsis – performance 'Perfect'

Alexandra Bachzetsis 

Perfect

4 March 2023

Muzeum Susch Auditorium

On 4 March 2023, as part of Hannah Villiger: Amaze Me exhibition, Alexandra Bachzetsis will present a performance Perfect at the Muzeum Susch’s main hall. In a setting that suggests a photo studio, she and co-performers repeat movements that refer to everyday gestures as well as references to fitness exercises or dance elements. The disruptions in the performance create a link to Villiger's questioning of self-presentation and her continuous posing in front of the camera.

Alexandra Bachzetsis is a Swiss choreographer, dancer and visual artist. In her live performances and video installations, she deals with body images, representation, and stereotypes.

Her work This Side Up (2007) created in collaboration with Julia Born is presented at Hannah Villiger: Amaze Me exhibition on the first floor. In this video work, Bachzetsis moves in a rectangular section of space, which in turn also moves or rotates repeatedly by 90 degrees. Gravity is overridden, and the performer winds, stretches, pushes or supports her body in the seemingly precarious space with considerable effort. The rectangular video format forms the spatial framework, just as the square Polaroid format frames Hannah Villiger's movements in front of the camera. In this work, Bachzetsis and Born are also concerned with how the movement and orientation of the body in space can be recorded and how the performers can be guided, instructed or even controlled.

CONCEPT, STAGE AND CHOREOGRAPHY Alexandra Bachzetsis // PERFORMANCE IN SUSCH Alexandra Bachzetsis, Antoine Weil, Johanna Willi-Rosenstein // COSTUME DESIGN Christian Hersche, Ulla Ludwig, Laurent Hermann Progin // TECHNICAL DIRECTION AND LIGHT Patrik Rimann // PRODUCTION AND TOUR MANAGEMENT Association All Exclusive, Franziska Schmidt // PHOTOS Diana Pfammatter

Acziun Susch › Zukünftige Veranstaltungen › 4/03 Alexandra Bachzetsis – performance Perfect

Alexandra Bachzetsis 

Perfect

4 March 2023

Muzeum Susch Auditorium

Am 4. März 2023 präsentiert Alexandra Bachzetsis im Rahmen der Hannah Villiger: Amaze Me  Ausstellung eine „Performance Perfect“ im Hauptsaal des Muzeum Susch. In einem Setting, das an ein Fotostudio erinnert, wiederholt sie mit ihren Co-Performern Bewegungen, die auf alltägliche Gesten, aber auch Fitnessübungen oder tänzerische Elemente verweisen. Die Brüche in der Performance erzeugen eine Verbindung zu Villigers Infragestellung der Selbstinszenierung vor der Kamera.

Alexandra Bachzetsis ist eine Schweizer Choreografin, Tänzerin und bildende Künstlerin. In ihren Live-Performances und Videoinstallationen beschäftigt sie sich mit Körperbildern, Repräsentation und Stereotypen.

Ihre in Zusammenarbeit mit Julia Born entstandene Arbeit This Side Up (2007) wird in der Ausstellung Hannah Villiger: Amaze Me im ersten Stock präsentiert. In dieser Videoarbeit befindet sich Bachzetsis in einem rechteckigen Raumausschnitt, der sich immer wieder bewegt oder um 90 Grad dreht. Die Schwerkraft wird außer Kraft gesetzt, und die Performerin windet, dehnt, drückt oder stützt ihren Körper in dem scheinbar prekären Raum mit erheblicher Anstrengung. Das rechteckige Videoformat bildet den räumlichen Rahmen, ebenso wie das quadratische Polaroidformat Hannah Villigers Bewegungen vor der Kamera umrahmt. Bachzetsis und Born beschäftigen sich in dieser Arbeit auch damit, wie die Bewegung und Orientierung des Körpers im Raum erfasst und die Performer geführt, instruiert oder gar kontrolliert werden können.

CONCEPT, STAGE AND CHOREOGRAPHY Alexandra Bachzetsis // PERFORMANCE IN SUSCH Alexandra Bachzetsis, Antoine Weil, Johanna Willi-Rosenstein // COSTUME DESIGN Christian Hersche, Ulla Ludwig, Laurent Hermann Progin // TECHNICAL DIRECTION AND LIGHT Patrik Rimann // PRODUCTION AND TOUR MANAGEMENT Association All Exclusive, Franziska Schmidt // PHOTOS Diana Pfammatter