Muzeum Susch › Permanent Installations › Heidi Bucher

→ SITE - SPECIFIC
PERMANENT INSTALLATIONS

Heidi Bucher

Herrenzimmer (1977 – 1979)

Heidi Bucher remains best known for objects involving latex created in the last two decades of her life. Educated at the School for the Applied Arts in Zurich, the artist left Switzerland in 1969 with her husband Carl and two sons, travelling first to Canada, then to the United States. Following her return to Switzerland in 1973, she separated from her husband and established her own studio in the basement of a former butcher shop in Zurich. It was there that, in 1976, she created Borg, the first of her Häutungen, or ‘skinnings’, taking a latex cast of the entrance door and wall to the butcher shop’s refrigeration room.

Herrenzimmer, on display in MUZEUM SUSCH, marks Bucher’s first large Raumhaut, or ‘room skin’. Sheets of gauze, covered in layers of latex and painted with mother-of-pearl, were peeled off producing a negative of the interior of the ‘gentlemen’s study’ at the house of the artist’s parents in Winterthur. Bucher thus described the painstaking process of a ‘skinning’: ‘We paste the rooms and then listen. We observe the surface and coat it. We wrap and unwrap. The lived, the past, become entangled in the cloth and remains fixed there. Slowly we loosen the layers of rubber, the skin, and drag yesterday into today’.

Bucher’s highly personal ‘room skins’ are paradoxical works: being both instances of frozen time as well as frail and brittle objects ready to crumble away to nothing. They can be seen to speak as much about preserving and presenting as about re-working and shedding, leaving things behind and breaking the mould.

Muzeum Susch - Heidi Bucher
© Studio Stefano Graziani



↘ QUOTES

↘ VIDEOS

↘ MUZEUM SUSCH APP

Muzeum Susch › Permanent Installations › Heidi Bucher

→ DAUERHAFTE ORTSSPEZIFISCHE
INSTALLATIONEN

Heidi Bucher

Herrenzimmer (1977 – 1979)

Heidi Bucher ist noch immer am besten für ihre Objekte aus Latex bekannt, die in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten ihres Lebens entstanden sind. Die an der Kunstgewerbeschule in Zürich ausgebildete Künstlerin verließ die Schweiz 1969 mit ihrem Ehemann Carl und zwei Söhnen, von wo aus sie zunächst nach Kanada, dann in die USA reisten. Nach ihrer Rückkehr in die Schweiz 1973 trennte sie sich von ihrem Mann und gründete ein eigenes Atelier im Untergeschoss einer ehemaligen Metzgerei in Zürich. Dort schuf sie 1976 Borg, die erste ihrer Häutungen, wofür sie einen Latexabguss der Eingangstür und der Wand zum Kühlraum der Metzgerei abnahm.

Herrenzimmer, zu sehen im MUZEUM SUSCH, markiert Buchers erste große Raumhaut, Mit Latex bedeckte und mit Perlmutt bemalte Gazeblättchen wurden abgezogen und formen ein Negativ des Inneren des Herrenzimmers im Haus der Eltern der Künstlerin in Winterthur. Bucher beschrieb den mühsamen Prozess des ‘Skinning’: ‘Wir kleistern die Räume ein und hören dann zu. Wir beobachten die Oberfläche und bedecken sie. Wir wickeln ein und packen aus. Das Lebende, die Vergangenheit, verheddert sich in dem Tuch und bleibt dort fixiert. Langsam lockern wir die Gummischichten, die Haut, und ziehen das Gestern ins Heute.’

Buchers sehr persönliche Raumhäute sind paradoxe Werke: Instanzen eingefrorener Zeit als auch gebrechliche und spröde Gegenstände, die bereit sind, zu nichts zu zerfallen. Man kann in ihnen genauso viel über das Bewahren und Präsentieren lesen wie über das Nacharbeiten und Ablegen, das Zurücklassen von Dingen und das Zerbrechen der Form.

Muzeum Susch - Heidi Bucher
© Studio Stefano Graziani



↘ QUOTES

↘ VIDEOS

↘ MUZEUM SUSCH APP