Muzeum Susch › Permanent Installations › Joanna Rajkowska

→ SITE - SPECIFIC
PERMANENT INSTALLATIONS

Joanna Rajkowska

Painkillers (2014 – 2017)

The Painkillers series stems from Rajkowska’s ongoing investigation into the history of modern warfare and the paradoxical connection between the arms and pharmaceutical industries. During the Soviet era, biological weapons were frequently produced in the same facilities as medical drugs; today, while such operations are increasingly diminishing, there are still some instances where this remains the case.

The artist commissioned film-industry professionals to cast a series of life-size replicas of firearms – from a Walther P99 with a silencer to an Uzi submachine gun to an M4A1 carbine – using powdered polyurethane resin mixed with pain relievers. As Rajkowska commented on her project: “To produce an effective weapon, to define the damage it can cause to the human body, [to develop] extensive knowledge about the mechanical or chemical or psychological consequences of its use […] It seems [to me] that the means of killing and of saving peoples’ lives are related to each other in terms of the forces generating them. This closeness can also be found between the means of inflicting pain and relieving it.”

Hovering menacingly above visitors’ heads at Muzeum Susch is a replica of Little Boy – the nuclear bomb dropped on the city of Hiroshima on 6 August 1945 – cast using the same material. While its form and appearance might seem dated, its physical proximity is a stark reminder that war is yet to become a thing of the past.



↘ QUOTES

↘ VIDEOS

↘ MUZEUM SUSCH APP

Muzeum Susch › Permanente Installationen › Joanna Rajkowska

→ SITE - SPECIFIC
PERMANENT INSTALLATIONS

Joanna Rajkowska

Painkillers (2014 – 2017)

Die Painkillers-Serie geht auf die fortlaufenden Untersuchungen von Rajkowska zur Geschichte der modernen Kriegsführung und die paradoxe Verbindung zwischen der Waffen- und der Pharmaindustrie zurück. Während der Sowjetzeit wurden biologische Waffen häufig in denselben Anlagen hergestellt wie lebensrettende Medikamente. Diese Form von kombinierter Produktion ist zwar seltener geworden, aber es gibt sie noch.

Die Künstlerin beauftragte Bühnenbildausstatter aus der Filmbranche, eine Serie lebensgroßer Nachbildungen von Schusswaffen anzufertigen – von der Walther P99 mit Schalldämpfer über die Uzi-Maschinenpistole bis hin zum M4A1-Karabiner; diese wurden aus pulverförmigem Polyurethanharz, das mit zermahlenen Schmerzmitteln vermischt wurde, hergestellt. Rajkowska kommentierte ihr Projekt wie folgt: ‘Um eine wirksame Waffe herzustellen und den Schaden zu bestimmen, den diese für den menschlichen Körper verursachen kann, um umfangreiches Wissen über die mechanischen, chemischen oder psychologischen Folgen ihres Einsatzes zu entwickeln [...] Es scheint [für mich], dass die Mittel, um Leben zu nehmen und diese zu retten, in Bezug auf die Kräfte, die sie erzeugen, zueinander in Beziehung stehen. Diese Nähe kann auch zwischen den Mitteln, Schmerz zuzufügen und zu lindern, gefunden werden’.

Überden Köpfen der Besucher von MUZEUM SUSCH schwebt drohend eine Nachbildung von Little Boy - der Atombombe, die am 6. August 1945 über Hiroshima abgeworfen wurde – hergestellt aus dem gleichen Material, angereichert mit Schmerzmitteln. Die Form und das Erscheinungsbild mögen altmodisch erscheinen, doch ihre physische Nähe erinnert deutlich daran, dass der Krieg noch nicht der Vergangenheit angehört.



↘ QUOTES

↘ VIDEOS

↘ MUZEUM SUSCH APP