ECHOLOT PODCAST

→ ECHOLOT PODCAST

 

An ECHOLOT or sonar is an instrument transmitting sound waves into the water and measuring the time interval between emission and return of the pulse to determine the depth of water. The connection of sound and time and the aspect of measuring, i.e. making sense, serves as its underlying concept.

  

The podcast features chapters from different pillars of our activities. Starting with 4 episodes from Disputaziuns Susch 2019, ’The Magicians of the Mountain’, in March 2020, we continue our audio journey with Stillness & Motion, a new podcast series launching 20th April 2020, featuring a mix of international artists, writers, choreographers and creative thinkers across nine episodes, meditating on times of isolation.

  

Since opening in January 2019 in the remote Alpine idyll of the Swiss Engadin, the concepts of stillness and taking life at a deliberately slower pace with increased time for contemplation have been a core founding value and at the centre of each of the museum’s multi-disciplinary strands of activity. Yet, since the current pandemic forced the world into physical separation and a near standstill of normal every day activity, the need for quiet meditation and contemplation is brought into stark relief.

  

The Stillness & Motion podcast series provides a vital platform for the original thinking and new creative ideas of artists and co-curators, arguably more relevant now than ever before as those at home seek comfort and relief to guide us through the current time of crisis.

  

Guest speakers among the series include: curator Sabine Breitwieser in conversation with artists Katrina Daschner and Aura Rosenberg from the exhibition, Up to and including limits: After Carolee Schneemann; author and editor, Jennifer Higgie in conversation with artist Liliane Lijn; dramaturg and writer Guy Cools on traditions that can help us to embody and experience the feelings of loss and grief, artist Jarosław Kozłowski on ‘Stillness/Motion’ in the context of the NET archive; and other writers, poets, choreographers and artists.

  

This new audio-initiative compliments the Muzeum Susch App (available on App Store and Google Play), which includes audio and visual guides of past and current exhibitions, reaching global audiences from its remote alpine surroundings.

  

  

Listen on Apple Podcasts

 

Listen on Spotify

 



↘ Stillness & Motion ¬ Episode 6

↘ Stillness & Motion ¬ Episode 5

↘ Stillness & Motion ¬ Episode 4

↘ Stillness & Motion ¬ Episode 3

↘ Stillness & Motion ¬ Episode 2

↘ Stillness & Motion ¬ Episode 1

↘ The Magicians of the Mountain ¬ Episode 4

↘ The Magicians of the Mountain ¬ Episode 3

↘ The Magicians of the Mountain ¬ Episode 2

↘ The Magicians of the Mountain ¬ Episode 1

↘ Upcoming podcasts

ECHOLOT PODCAST

→ ECHOLOT PODCAST

 

Ein ECHOLOT ist ein Instrument, das Unterwasser Schallwellen sendet und das Zeitintervall zwischen Aussendung und Rückkehr des Impulses misst, um die Wassertiefe zu bestimmen. Die Verbindung von Schall und Zeit und der Aspekt des Messens, d.h. des Schaffens von Bedeutung, dienen als grundlegendes Konzept.

 

Der Podcast enthält Kapitel aus den verschiedenen Bereichen unserer Aktivitäten. Begonnen haben wir mit 4 Episoden aus der Disputaziuns Susch 2019, ‘Die Zauberer vom Berg’, im März 2020. Wir setzen unsere Audio-Reise mit Stillness & Motion fort, einer neuen Reihe, die am 20. April 2020 startet und in neun Episoden mit internationalen Künstler*innen, Schriftsteller*innen, Choreograf*innen und kreativen Denker*innen über die Kunst in Zeiten der Isolation nachdenkt.

 

Seit der Eröffnung des Muzeum Susch im Januar 2019 in der abgelegenen Alpenidylle des Schweizer Engadins sind die Konzepte von Stille und eines bewusst langsameren Tempos sowie mehr Zeit zur Kontemplation zentrale Grundwerte, die im Zentrum der multidisziplinären Aktivitäten der Stiftung stehen. Und in Zeiten der aktuellen COVID_19 Pandemie, in der wir auf der ganzen Welt zu physischer Isolation und einem Beinahe-Stillstand der normalen Alltagsaktivitäten gezwungen sind, wächst das Bedürfnis nach stiller Meditation und Kontemplation deutlich.

 

Während das Museum für Veranstaltungen und Besucher vorerst geschlossen bleibt, bietet der neue Podcast Stillness & Motion eine wichtige Plattform für das ursprüngliche Denken und die neuen kreativen Ideen von Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen, die heute wohl wichtiger denn je sind, da die Menschen daheim Trost und Erleichterung suchen, um durch die gegenwärtige Krisenzeit geleitet und begleitet zu werden.

 

Zu den Gästen der Reihe gehören unter anderem: die Kuratorin Sabine Breitweiser im Gespräch mit den Künstlerinnen Katrina Daschner und Aura Rosenberg aus der Ausstellung 'Up to and including limits: After Carolee Schneemann'; die Autorin und Redakteurin Jennifer Higgie im Gespräch mit der Künstlerin Liliane Lijn; der Dramaturg und Schriftsteller Guy Cools über Traditionen, die uns helfen können, die Gefühle von Verlust und Trauer zu verkörpern und zu erfahren; der Künstler Jarosław Kozłowski zum Thema ‘Stillstand/Bewegung’ im Kontext des NET-Archivs; und weitere Schriftsteller*innen, Dichter*innen, Choreograf*innen und Künstler*innen.

 

Diese neue Audio-Initiative ergänzt die App Muzeum Susch (verfügbar App store und auf Google Play), die Audio- und Videotouren zu vergangenen und aktuellen Ausstellungen anbietet und aus der entlegenen alpinen Umgebung ein internationales Publikum anspricht.

  

  

Listen on Apple Podcasts

 

Listen on Spotify

 



↘ Stillness & Motion ¬ Episode 4

↘ Stillness & Motion ¬ Episode 3

↘ Stillness & Motion ¬ Episode 2

↘ Stillness & Motion ¬ Episode 1

↘ The Magicians of the Mountain ¬ Episode 4

↘ The Magicians of the Mountain ¬ Episode 3

↘ The Magicians of the Mountain ¬ Episode 2

↘ The Magicians of the Mountain ¬ Episode 1

↘ Upcoming podcasts