Acziun Susch › Currently on Residency › Alexis Vassiliou / CY

3-19.05.2022

Alexis Vassiliou / Cyprus

ΣΑΚΡΑ research residency

Acziun Susch is happy to welcome choreographer Alexis Vassiliou for a residency dedicated to developing his research around the emblematic musical work of Igor Stravinsky Sacre de Printemps (The Rite of Spring, considered the first modern ballet – premiered in 1913).

The investigations began in 2020 with the film EGKATA (English title GUTS). Now, the creator aims to sharpen his methodology and develop the material for the stage work ΣΑΚΡA that is planned to premiere in 2022.

Throughout the residency at Muzeum Susch, Alexis will be working on selected musical parts/excerpts of Sacre (mainly from the final Sacrifice scene of the ballet, which will become the leitmotif of the show).

Work is designed to study in-depth, explore and deconstruct the musical composition of Igor Stravinsky. This way artist will create new, various musical and physical phrases that will form the basis and the content of future work.

Alexis Vassiliou. Courtesy of the Artist. Photo: Pavlos Vryonides
Alexis Vassiliou. Courtesy of the Artist. Photo: Pavlos Vryonides

Igor Stravinsky composed The Rite of Spring, as stated by historians, in a nearby village from Susch. He was searching for a rural and isolated place (in nature) to be able to capture the robust character of the music. The geographical proximity from the origin of the work plays an essential role in the project and supports the movement and sound material development. The complexity and ‘autonomy’ of nature are the perfect mirrorings for the multiple layers needed to be created for this performance work to reach its potential. Museum Susch, as an art institution that combines the qualities of a high-prolific art environment (offering stimuli on various layers) and located in such compelling and unique scenery, seems to be thus the perfect research space for ΣΑΚΡA.

Alexis Vassiliou studied music (B.A in Music), the composition of music for films and theatre (M.A) and contemporary dance in the United Kingdom.

He was a Dance-Web scholarship programme holder (in the frame of the 25th ΙmpulsTanz Vienna International Dance Festival 2008 in Austria). His work Please Be Gentle was selected as an Aerowaves Dance Network priority company in 2014. The work was co-produced by Act Your Age: Dance House Lemesos / Centro per la Scena Contemporanea/ Dutch Dance Festival. With support from EU Culture Programme 2007-2013.

During 2012 and 2013, he participated as an artist in two European programmes: E-motional Bodies & Cities and Act your Age.

Alexis’ works has been presented in various international festivals (as Dutch Dance Festival, B-Motion/Operaestate Festival Veneto, Burgenländische Tanztage a.o.).

Since 2016 Alexis has been collaborating with Dance House Lemesos in the position of artistic curator.

Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Alexis Vassiliou / CY

3-19.05.2022

Alexis Vassiliou / Cyprus

ΣΑΚΡΑ Forschungsaufenthalt

Acziun Susch freut sich, den Choreografen Alexis Vassiliou für diesen Aufenthalt begrüßen zu dürfen, der seiner Forschungsarbeit rund um das emblematische musikalische Werk Sacre de Printemps von Igor Stravinsky gewidmet ist (Das Frühlingsopfer gilt als das erste moderne Ballett – uraufgeführt im Jahr 1913).

Seine Forschungstätigkeit begann im Jahr 2020 mit dem Film EGKATA (englischer Titel GUTS). Nun möchte der Urheber seine Methodik schärfen und die Materialien für das Bühnenwerk ΣΑΚΡA weiterentwickeln, das im Jahr 2022 uraufgeführt werden soll.

Während des gesamten Aufenthalts im Museum Susch wird Alexis an ausgewählten musikalischen Teilen / Ausschnitten von Sacre arbeiten (hauptsächlich aus der abschließenden Opfer-Szene des Balletts, die das Leitmotiv der Show sein wird).
Seine Arbeit zielt auf die Vertiefung, Erforschung und Dekonstruierung der musikalischen Komposition von Igor Strawinsky ab. Auf diese Weise wird der Künstler neue, verschiedene musikalische und physische Phrasen schaffen, die die Grundlage und den Inhalt des kommenden Werkes bilden werden.

Alexis Vassiliou. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Künstlers. Foto: Pavlos Vryonides
Alexis Vassiliou. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Künstlers. Foto: Pavlos Vryonides

Igor Strawinsky hat Das Frühlingsopfer, wie Historiker erklären, in einem Dorf unweit von Susch komponiert. Er war auf der Suche nach einem ländlichen und abgelegenen Ort (in der Natur), um den kraftvollen Charakter seiner Musik einfangen zu können. Die geographische Nähe der Herkunft des Werks spielt eine wichtige Rolle im Projekt und unterstützt die Entwicklung der Bewegung und des Klangmaterials. Die Komplexität und „Autonomie“ der Natur spiegeln die multiplen Ebenen perfekt wider, die geschaffen werden müssen, damit diese Performance-Arbeit ihr Potenzial entfalten kann. Das Museum Susch als Kunstinstitution vereint die Qualitäten einer hochproduktiven künstlerischen Umgebung (die Reize auf verschiedenen Ebenen bietet) in einer sehr überzeugenden und einzigartigen Landschaft und scheint daher der perfekte Forschungsraum für ΣΑΚPA zu sein.

Alexis Vassiliou studierte Musik (B.A.-Abschluss in Musik), Komposition von Musik für Film und Theater (M.A.-Abschluss) und zeitgenössischen Tanz im Vereinigten Königreich.
Außerdem war er Dance-Web-Stipendiat (im Rahmen des 25. Internationalen Tanzfestivals ΙmpulsTanz Wien 2008 in Österreich). Seine Arbeit Please Be Gentle wurde im Jahr 2014 als Prioritätswerk des Aerowaves Dance Network ausgewählt. Das Werk wurde koproduziert von Act Your Age: Dance House Lemesos / Centro per la Scena Contemporanea/ Dutch Dance Festival. Mit Unterstützung des EU-Kulturprogramms 2007-2013.

2012 und 2013 nahm er als Künstler an zwei europäischen Programmen teil: E-motional Bodies & Cities und Act your Age.

Alexis‘ Werke wurden auf verschiedenen internationalen Festivals präsentiert (u.a. Dutch Dance Festival, B-Motion/Operaestate Festival Veneto, Burgenländische Tanztage).

Seit 2016 arbeitet Alexis als künstlerischer Kurator mit Dance House Lemesos zusammen.