Muzeum Susch › Temporary Exhibitions › Upcoming › 'Evelyne Axell: Body Double'

→ MUZEUM
SUSCH

Evelyne Axell: Body Double

Curated by Anke Kempkes and Krzysztof Kościuczuk 

  

1 August - 6 December 2020

  

Evelyne Axell was among the most vivid artistic figures of her time. Born in 1935, with her life cut abruptly in 1972, Axell left an exceptional body of work that reflects her pursuit of a career between film and visual arts. While she forged an original proto-feminist perspective on Pop Art, her practice was frequently met with criticism both within the existing structures of the art industry as well as the progressive thinking feminist movement, much like that of Niki de Saint Phalle, Kiki Kogelnik, Pauline Boty or Dorothy Iannone.

 

The exhibition Body Double at Muzeum Susch will offer a major individual presentation of her works outside her native Belgium. The presentation will bring together a selection of collages, painterly objects, many of which were created with radically novel artificial materials, as well as rare three-dimensional objects and works on paper, many of which have for decades not been accessible to the public eye.

  

Evelyne Axell, The Champions (Les Championnes), 1966, courtesy Collection Philippe Axell, copyright ADAGP, ProLitteris 2020, Photo: Paul Louis

 

With the aim of shedding light on Axell’s oeuvre and biography that came closely intertwined throughout her short life, Body Double will examine the central themes of Pop Art from the female perspective and bringing them further into a wider scope of political concern and iconography.

Muzeum Susch › Temporäre Ausstellungen › Kommende Ausstellung › 'Evelyne Axell: Body Double'


→ MUZEUM
SUSCH

Evelyne Axell: Body Double

Kuratiert von Anke Kempkes und Krzysztof Kościuczuk

 

1 August - 6 Dezember 2020

  

Evelyne Axell gehörte zu den schillerndsten Künstlerpersönlichkeiten ihrer Zeit. Geboren 1935 und bereits 1972 plötzlich aus dem Leben gerissen, hat Axell ein außergewöhnliches Werk hinterlassen, das ihre Karriere vom Film zur bildenden Kunst widerspiegelt. Ihre proto-feministische Perspektive auf die Pop Art wurde sowohl innerhalb der bestehenden Strukturen des Kunstbetriebs als auch in der progressiv denkenden feministischen Bewegung kritisch behandelt, ähnlich wie die Positionen von Niki de Saint Phalle, Kiki Kogelnik, Pauline Boty oder Dorothy Iannone.

 

Die Ausstellung Body Double im Muzeum Susch wird eine bedeutende Einzelpräsentation ihrer Werke außerhalb ihres Heimatlandes Belgien offerieren. Die Präsentation umfasst Collagen, malerische Objekte, von denen viele unter Verwendung radikal neuer Kunststoffe entstanden, sowie seltene dreidimensionale Objekte und Arbeiten auf Papier, von denen einige seit Jahrzehnten nicht öffentlich gezeigt wurden.

 

Evelyne Axell, The Champions (Les Championnes), 1966, courtesy Collection Philippe Axell, copyright ADAGP, ProLitteris 2020, Photo: Paul Louis
 

Mit dem Ziel, Axells Oeuvre und ihre Biografie, die während ihres kurzen Lebens eng miteinander verflochten waren, zu beleuchten, wird Body Double zentrale Themen der Pop Art aus einer weiblichen Perspektive darstellen und sie in einen erweitertern aktuellen Kontext von Politik und Ikonografie stellen.