Muzeum Susch › Permanent Installations › Piotr Uklański

→ SITE - SPECIFIC
PERMANENT INSTALLATIONS

Piotr Uklański

Real Nazis (2017)
Untitled (Story of the Eye, 2013)

‘The notorious Nazi Hanns Johst once said that, whenever he heard the word ‘culture’, he reached for his gun. Every time I hear the word ‘Nazi’, I think of Stefan Grzelak, imprisoned in SS-Arbeitslager Friedrichshafen. He was my grandfather,’ stated Piotr Uklański, commenting on Real Nazis (2017): the series of 203 photographic prints, completed in 2017, currently on display on two walls of a custom-built room in MUZEUM SUSCH.

#1063

In 1998, Uklański created The Nazis, a thematic visually akin assortment of 164 photographs portraying actors – from Marlon Brando and Michael Caine to Clint Eastwood, Anthony Hopkins and Donald Pleasence – who appeared as Nazis in a variety of cinematic productions. Presented subsequently in London, Warsaw and New York – where it was included in the 2002 Jewish Museum exhibition ‘Mirroring Evil’ – The Nazis stirred controversy and debate concerning history, its mediated representation as well as, inevitably, the imagery of the Nazi regime: the way cruelty, authority, and subjection – including fetishistic and homoerotic constituents –, became fused in the Wehrmacht and SS uniforms. ‘It’s about the power of costumes and the costumes of power,’ remarked Uklański.

Two decades later, the artist completed Real Nazis: a portrait gallery of more than 200 individuals who fought on the German side during World War II. Conceived as Uklański’s contribution to documenta 14, where it was shown in Kassel’s Neue Galerie, adjacent to the a room containing a permanent display of the work of Joseph Beuys, whose image is included in the series. Yet, Uklański does not seek to dispel the myth of this key figure in post-war European art, who drew on his experience of serving in the Luftwaffe as impetus for his future artistic practice, nor to probe the uncanny resemblance of these actual Nazis’ facial expressions to those of the actors from his earlier series. Rather, this project was the artist’s response to the rising popularity of far-right movements across Europe, against the backdrop of a move to prohibit – , officially or otherwise – the dissemination of images depicting the individuals involved in the atrocities. Yet, the overwhelming presence of those 203 faces in Real Nazis highlights to which extend the modern-day visual damnatio memoriae - the erasure of people from the collective memory by abolishing their representations – has caused their true likenesses to be supplanted by fictionalised ones invented within, and powerfully disseminated by, the sphere of popular culture, as seen documented in The Nazis. Uklański’s ‘wall of shame’ also invites a darker question: is it possible to infer a person’s character from their appearance? A question whose physiognomical foundations were discredited by the very workings of the Nazi regime itself.

Located next to the entrance is Uklański’s Untitled (Story of the Eye) (2013): a large-scale sculpture made from dyed rope, fibre, macramé and embroidery in the shape of an eye. While clearly referencing Georges Bataille’s L’histoire de l’oeil (Story of the Eye, 1928) – a self-psychoanalytical novella heavy with explicit descriptions – Uklański is also making a statement in this work with his choice of medium: historically, textiles have been associated with women artists – particularly in 1970s Communist Poland – and, more broadly, with the feminine sphere pertaining to crafts frequently undertaken by women. Untitled (Story of the Eye) is one of a series of fibre and textile artworks that Uklański has produced, whose loose, soft structures echo organic forms or, more directly, human bodily organs, while revisiting and reinterpreting the techniques of artists such as Magdalena Abakanowicz.

But the eye and by implication the act of looking is integral to art and to our comprehension of its history. Here, as the eerie eye ball hovers above the floor, its gaze fixed into the index of names of those depicted in Real Nazis, two of Uklański’s interpretations of historical order meet.



↘ QUOTES

↘ VIDEOS

↘ MUZEUM SUSCH APP

Muzeum Susch › Permanent Installations › Piotr Uklański

→ DAUERHAFTE ORTSSPEZIFISCHE
INSTALLATIONEN

Piotr Uklański

Real Nazis (2017)
Untitled (Story of the Eye, 2013)

‘Der berüchtigte Nazi Hanns Johst sagte einmal, dass er, wann immer er das Wort ‘Kultur’ hörte, nach seiner Waffe griff. Jedes Mal, wenn ich das Wort ‘Nazi’ höre, denke ich an Stefan Grzelak, der im SS-Arbeitslager Friedrichshafen inhaftiert war. Er war mein Großvater’, erklärte Piotr Uklański zu Real Nazis(2017): die 2017 fertiggestellte Serie von 203 Fotodrucken, die permanent in einem eigens dafür geschaffenen Raum im MUZEUM SUSCH ausgestellt ist.

Im Jahr 1998 schuf Uklański mit The Naziseine thematisch visuelle Zusammenstellung von 164 Fotografien von Schauspielern, die als Nazis in verschiedenen Filmproduktionen auftraten - von Marlon Brando und Michael Caine bis zu Anthony Hopkins, Clint Eastwood und Donald Pleasence. Diese Fotografien wurden zunächst in London und Warschau präsentiert und anschliessend 2002 in die Ausstellung Mirroring Evil des Jüdischen Museums in New York aufgenommen. The Nazis sorgten für Kontroversen und Debatten über die Geschichte, deren vermittelte Repräsentation sowie unvermeidlich die Bilder des NS-Regimes: Die Art, wie Grausamkeit, Autorität und Unterwerfung - einschließlich fetischistischer und homoerotischer Komponenten - in den Uniformen von Wehrmacht und SS verschmolzen wurden. ‘Es geht um die Macht der Kostüme und der Kostüme der Macht’, sagte Uklański.

Zwei Jahrzehnte später vollendete der Künstler Real Nazis: eine Porträtgalerie von mehr als 200 Personen, die im Zweiten Weltkrieg auf deutscher Seite gekämpft hatten. Dieses Projekt, als Uklańskis Beitrag zur documenta 14konzipiert, wurde in der Neuen Galerie in Kassel ausgestellt, in direkter Nachbarschaft zu einem Werk von Joseph Beuys, das dort permanent installiert ist, und dessen Foto wiederum in der Serie auftaucht. Uklański versucht jedoch weder, den Mythos dieser Schlüsselfigur in der europäischen Kunst der Nachkriegszeit zu zerstören (der auf seine Erfahrungen in den Luftstreitkräften als Anstoß für seine zukünftige künstlerische Praxis zurückgreift), noch die unheimliche Ähnlichkeit der Gesichtsausdrücke dieser tatsächlichen Nazis zu denen der Schauspieler aus seiner früheren Serie zu untersuchen. Vielmehr war dieses Projekt die Antwort des Künstlers auf die zunehmende Popularität rechtsextremer Bewegungen in ganz Europa, vor dem Hintergrund der Bemühungen – offiziell oder anderweitig - die Verbreitung von Bildern der an den Gräueltaten Beteiligten zu verbieten. Die überwältigende Präsenz dieser 203 Gesichter in Real Nazishebt hervor, in welchem Ausmass sich das moderne visuelle Damnatio Memoriae - die Auslöschung von Individuen aus dem kollektiven Gedächtnis durch die Abschaffung ihrer Repräsentation – ausgedehnt hat und dazu geführt hat, dass die wahren Ähnlichkeiten durch fiktionalisierte, in der Sphäre der Populärkultur erfundene und verbreitete, ersetzt wurde – wie in The Nazis dokumentiert.Uklańskis «Mauer der Schande»wirft auch eine dunkle Frage auf: Kann man den Charakter einer Person aus ihrem Aussehen ableiten? Eine Frage, deren physiognomische Grundlagen speziell vom NS-Regime selbst diskreditiert wurden.

Neben dem Eingang des Raumes plaziert ist Uklańskis Untitled (Story of the Eye) (2013): Eine großformatige Skulptur in Form eines Auges aus gefärbtem Seil, Faser, Makramee und Stickerei. Das Auge - und damit der Blick - ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der Kunst und unseres Verständnisses ihrer Geschichte. Mit dem unheimlichen Augapfel, der über dem Boden schwebt und dessen Blick auf das Namensverzeichnis der in Real Nazisabgebildeten Namen gerichtet ist, werden zwei Interpretationen der historischen Ordnung von Uklański im Museum miteinander konfrontiert.



↘ QUOTES

↘ VIDEOS

↘ MUZEUM SUSCH APP