Acziun Susch › About ACZIUN SUSCH

→ ACZIUN
SUSCH

Since 2004 Art Stations Foundation by Grażyna Kulczyk has been providing extensive support to the development of contemporary choreography through its performative programme based in Poznań, recognized internationally under the name Stary Browar Nowy Taniec / Old Brewery New Dance. Conceived and curated by Joanna Leśnierowska, it provided the Polish and international dance community with a unique meeting point in Central Eastern Europe - a platform for research, creation and choreographic (self)reflection bringing forward the art of choreography in dialogue with other disciplines, examining its history, theory and future, revisiting and interrogating its own artistic, but also political and social, content and contexts.

Such understood choreographic practice – the embodied thinking process in constant motion – becomes the central focus of ACZIUN SUSCH. Political by its nature, such discursive choreography is constantly engaged in confronting naturalized and/or imposed ways of perceiving/experiencing the body and world, in order to create counter ways of seeing and being seen. Choreography that inhabits (and boldly widens) a crack between visual arts and dance while defining its own autonomous territory will find visibility and space within ACZIUN SUSCH.

The programme of research residencies will combine space for reflection and individual practice with public rehearsals, workshops and lectures.

Joanna Leśnierowska

Joanna Leśnierowska dance curator, dramaturge and performance-maker; she used to write as the first regular professional dance writer for “Didaskalia” magazine, one of Poland’s leading theater journals. She has also published on Polish dance in Theater der Zeit (Berlin), Dance Today (Israel), and Dance Zone (Prague), lectured on choreography history and theory in University of Poznan and Jagiellonian University in Cracow and gave many speeches on Polish dance and contemporary choreography abroad. 

In 2004 she has created the first regular dance space/choreographic development center in Poznan, Poland, within Art Stations Foundation by Grażyna Kulczyk. Here she’s featuring international avant-garde choreographers and intensively supports the development of Polish dance artists. In the years 2011-14 she has been a member of the advisory board of the Music and Dance Institute in Warsaw. In season 2018/19 she curated “widening the field” – the choreographic production program at Nowy Theatre, Warsaw. 

Since 2019 Joanna has become chief curator of Acziun Susch – one of main programs of Muzeum Susch dedicated to contemporary choreography. Parallel to her curatorial work, Joanna pursues practice as dramaturge and performance maker. She co-operates with several Polish and international choreographers as well as conceives own works and leads international collaboration projects in Europe and North and South America.

The first guest artist presenting in Susch a choreographic works is Maria Zimpel. She will introduce ‘noish ~ [commotion in moderation]’, where the sensitive body filters noise through itself, intensifying within the space the breaking down of all [her] becomings. There is no „I” – the self solely a witness. Music intensifies the process. Dance and music intertwine and all we see is the vibration of the shell, never the cracking.

This choreography was co-produced by Art Stations Foundation PL and upon its premiere in 2016 selected as one of the most interesting works by Aerowaves, the European platform for dance professionals.

Acziun Susch › Über ACZIUN SUSCH

→ ACZIUN
SUSCH

Seit 2004 unterstützt die Art Stations Foundation von Grażyna Kulczyk intensiv die Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Choreografie, speziell durch ihr Performanceprogramm mit Sitz in Poznań, das international unter dem Namen Stary Browar Nowy Taniec / Old Brewery New Dance bekannt ist. Konzipiert und kuratiert von Joanna Leśnierowska, bietet das Programm der polnischen und internationalen Tanzgemeinschaft einen einzigartigen Treffpunkt in Mittelosteuropa - eine Plattform für Recherche, Kreation und choreographische (Selbst-) Reflexion, die die Kunst der Choreografie im Dialog mit anderen Disziplinen fördert und untersucht, ihre Geschichte, Theorie und Zukunft, ihre eigenen künstlerischen, aber auch politischen und sozialen Inhalte und Kontexte neu betrachtet und hinterfragt.

Eine als solche verstandene choreografische Praxis – der verkörperte Denkprozess in ständiger Bewegung – steht im Mittelpunkt von ACZIUN SUSCH. Politisch per se, ist eine solche diskursive Choreografie ständig damit beschäftigt, eingebürgerte und/oder aufgezwungene Weisen des Erfassens / Erlebens von Körper und Welt miteinander zu konfrontieren, um entgegengesetzte Sichtweisen und Wahrnehmungen zu schaffen. Eine Choreografie, die sich zwischen bildender Kunst und Tanz ansiedelt (und diesen Zwischenraum mutig erweitert), während sie ihr eigenes autonomes Territorium definiert, wird innerhalb von ACZIUN SUSCH ihren Ort und Präsenz finden.

Das Programm der Forschungsaufenthalte wird Raum für Reflexion und individuelle Praxis mit öffentlichen Proben, Workshops und Vorträgen kombinieren.

Joanna Leśnierowska

Joanna Leśnierowska ist Tanzkuratorin, Dramaturgin und Performerin; sie schrieb als erste professionelle Tanzautorin regelmäßige für die Zeitschrift „Didaskalia“, eine der führenden polnischen Theaterzeitschriften. Sie hat außerdem über polnischen Tanz in „Theater der Zeit“ (Berlin), „Dance Today“ (Israel) und „Dance Zone“ (Prag) veröffentlicht, Vorlesungen zur Choreografiegeschichte und -theorie an der Universität Posen und der Jagiellonen-Universität in Krakau sowie im Ausland Vorträge über polnischen Tanz und zeitgenössische Choreographie gehalten. 

2004 begründete sie im Rahmen der Art Stations Foundation by Grażyna Kulczyk das erste reguläre Zentrum für Tanz und Choreographie in Poznan, Polen. Hier stellt sie internationale Avantgarde-Choreograf*innen vor und unterstützt intensiv die Entwicklung polnischer Tanzkünstler*innen. In den Jahren 2011-14 war sie Mitglied des Beirats des Musik- und Tanzinstituts in Warschau. In der Saison 2018/19 kuratierte sie „widening the field“ - das choreografische Produktionsprogramm am Nowy Theater in Warschau. 

Seit 2019 ist Joanna Chefkuratorin von Acziun Susch - eines der Hauptprogramme des Muzeum Susch, das sich der zeitgenössischen Choreografie widmet. Parallel zu ihrer kuratorischen Arbeit ist Joanna als Dramaturgin und Performerin tätig. Sie arbeitet mit polnischen und internationalen Choreographen, entwirft eigene Werke und leitet internationale Kollaborationsprojekte in Europa sowie in Nord- und Südamerika.

Die erste Gastkünstlerin, die in Susch ein choreografisches Werk präsentiert, ist Maria Zimpel. Sie wird ‘Noish ~ [commotion in moderation]’ vorstellen, eine Performance in der der empfindsame Körper das Geräusch durch sich selbst filtert und im Raum den Zusammenbruch (ihres) Werdens verstärkt. Es gibt kein „Ich“ - das Selbst ist nur ein Zeuge. Musik intensiviert den Prozess, Tanz und Musik verflechten sich und alles, was wir sehen, ist die Vibration der Schale, niemals das Aufbrechen.

Diese Choreographie wurde von der Art Stations Foundation PL co-produziert und bei ihrer Premiere im Jahr 2016 als eines der interessantesten Werke von Aerowaves, der europäischen Plattform für Tanzprofis, ausgewählt.