Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Agata Maszkiewicz 'SAME SAME AND DIFFERENT'

→ ACZIUN
SUSCH

Agata Maszkiewicz SAME SAME AND DIFFERENT

13 July – 19 July 2019

/ co-production residency

 

ACZIUN SUSCH is delighted to welcome Polish choreographer Agata Maszkiewicz for a residency leading up to the creation of her new performance in co-production with Art Stations Foundation CH and Culturescapes Festival 2019/ Polen, Basel.

The initial idea for Agata’s new work came from a quote by Roland Barthes: A frequent image: that of the ship Argo (luminous and white), each piece of which the Argonauts gradually replaced, so that they ended with an entirely new ship, without having to alter either its name or its form.

In the process of SAME SAME AND DIFFERENT, together with two other performers, Olivier Normand and Vincent Tirmarche, Agata Maszkiewicz is going to engage the image of the Argo boat by applying that metaphor to the theatre space. The artists will become Argonauts, embarking on the "Argo-boat-show", gradually replacing all of the possible elements of the performance (light, music, bodies, dance, text etc.). The title of the work is a reference to a Thai saying: same same but different(Q: “Is this a real …?” A: “Yes, sir, same same but different”) –in a humorous way it explains the idea at play: the same same show that contains many different beginnings, middles and endings…

The principle of replacement opens vast possibilities of playing with genres, aesthetics, movement qualities and music styles, finding their place in the same piece. One after another or simultaneously, these are creating surprising combinations. Questioning the audience’s notion of taste and habits, their abilities of creating sense and resistance to the vertigo of accumulations are challenged.

While in residency with ACZIUN SUSCH, Agata Maszkiewicz and Vincent Tirmarche will spend time re-visiting their research material, writing texts and developing the dramaturgy for the show. The first public presentation of the project –a lecture-performance based on their research- will be part of Culturescapes Festival in Basel and is scheduled for 24 November. Agata will also be present with her work within “Who’s afraid of (Polish) choreography?”, a performance weekend at Muzeum Suschon 28–30 November 2019. The premiere of the performance is scheduled for 26 March 2020 at Mars planète danse festival in Cognac, France.

 

Agata Maszkiewicz graduated from the Institute of Dance Arts at the Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität, Linz, Austria. She continued her education in Montpellier, at Centre Choreographique National, in the ex.e.r.ceprogramme under Xavier Le Roy. She is interested in dance in the wider sense, understood as organized movement (not necessarily only of human bodies). Her point of reference is social reality, which she tries to transform on stage: sometimes poetically and sometimes comically. For this reason, Austrian critic Helmut Ploebst has dubbed her "a socio-critical choreographer". Agata Maszkiewicz is based in France and regularly collaborates with Art Stations Foundation by Grażyna Kulczyk which co-produced all of her internationally acclaimed performances.

Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Agata Maszkiewicz 'SAME SAME AND DIFFERENT'

→ ACZIUN
SUSCH

Agata Maszkiewicz SAME SAME AND DIFFERENT

13. Juli - 19. Juli 2019

/ Koproduktionsresidenz

 

ACZIUN SUSCH freut sich sehr, die polnische Choreografin Agata Maszkiewicz für ihren Aufenthalt in Susch zu begrüßen, während dessen sie ihre neue Performance in Koproduktion mit Art Stations Foundation CH und dem Culturescapes Festival 2019 / Polen, Basel vorbereiten wird.

Die ursprüngliche Idee für Agatas neues Werk bezieht sich auf ein Zitat von Roland Barthes: Ein wiederkehrendes Bild: das des Schiffes Argo (leuchtend und weiss), das die Argonauten nach und nach, Stück für Stück erneuerten, so dass sie mit einem völlig anderen Schiff ankamen, ohne seinen Namen oder seine Form ändern zu müssen.

Im Prozess von SAME SAME AND DIFFERENT wird Agata Maszkiewicz zusammen mit zwei weiteren Darstellern, Olivier Normand und Vincent Tirmarche, dieses Bild des Argo-Bootes inszenieren, indem sie die Metapher auf die Bühne überträgt: Die Künstler werden zu Argonauten, die sich auf die "Argo-Boat-Show" begeben und nach und nach alle möglichen Elemente der Performance (Licht, Musik, Körper, Tanz, Text usw.) ersetzen. Der Titel der Arbeit bezieht sich auf eine thailändische Redensart: gleich gleich, aber verschieden (F: "Ist das eine echte...?" A: "Ja, Sir, gleich gleich, aber verschieden") – auf humorvolle Weise erklärt es die Idee im Spiel: die gleiche Show, die viele verschiedene Anfänge, Mittelstücke und Enden enthält ...

Das Prinzip des Auswechselns, Ersetzens eröffnet hier weitreichende Möglichkeiten, mit Genres, Ästhetik, Bewegungsqualität und Musikstilen zu spielen, die ihren zugewiesenen Platz im immer wieder abgewandelten Stück finden. Nacheinander oder gleichzeitig ergeben sich überraschende Kombinationen. Geschmack und der Gewohnheiten des Publikums werden in Frage gestellt, sowie dessen Fähigkeit herausgefordert, Sinn zu schaffen und sich gegen den Schwindel von Ansammlungen zu stellen.

Während ihres Aufenthalts mit ACZIUN SUSCH werden Agata Maszkiewicz und Vincent Tirmarche ihre Forschungsergebnisse sichten, Texte schreiben und die Dramaturgie für die Show entwickeln. Die erste öffentliche Präsentation des Projekts – eine Vortragsperformance basierend auf ihrer Forschung – wird Teil des Culturescapes Festivals in Basel sein und ist für den 24. November geplant. Agata Maszkiewicz wird ihre Arbeit auch im Rahmen von "Wer hat Angst vor (polnischer) Choreografie?" vostellen, einem Performance-Wochenende im Muzeum Susch am 28.-30. November 2019. Die Premiere der Aufführung ist dann für den 26. März 2020 beim Mars Planète Danse Festival in Cognac, Frankreich, geplant.

 

Agata Maszkiewicz absolvierte das Institut für Tanzkunst an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität, Linz, Österreich. Sie setzte ihre Ausbildung in Montpellier am Centre Choreographique National im ex.e.r.ce-Programm bei Xavier Le Roy fort. Sie interessiert sich für Tanz im erweiterten Sinn, verstanden als organisierte Bewegung (nicht unbedingt nur des menschlichen Körpers). Ihr Bezugspunkt ist die soziale Realität, die sie auf der Bühne transformiert: mal poetisch, mal komisch. Aus diesem Grund hat der österreichische Kritiker Helmut Ploebst sie als "sozialkritische Choreografin" bezeichnet. Agata Maszkiewicz lebt in Frankreich und arbeitet regelmässig mit der Art Stations Foundation by Grażyna Kulczyk zusammen, die alle ihre international anerkannten Performances koproduziert hat.