Temporars Susch › About TEMPORARS SUSCH

→ TEMPORARS
SUSCH

"Fermada sün dumonda"

"Fermada sün dumonda"("Stop on request") are the words that welcome those arriving in Susch on the red Swiss trains that cross the alpine region of Graubünden, coming into the Engadin valley. Situated there, is a medieval monastery that used to be an important stop on the path of those who, in search of penance, gratitude, or contemplation, peregrinated to Santiago de Compostela and Rome centuries ago. The space that once offered a warm sojourn and respite to pilgrims on their journeys is now home to MUZEUM SUSCHand Art Stations Foundation CH. 

Starting in 2020, the Chasa (a house), in the historical complex, will again become a home for travellers participating in the new residency programme titled Temporars Susch. In reference to the cultural, scientific and scholarly heritage of Friedrich Nietzsche, Thomas Mann, Vaslav Nijinsky and J.M. Basquiat who, amongst others, discovered the Engadin as a site of inspiration and intellectual debate, the programme is aimed for those who in conscious decision are prepared to make a "Fermada sün dumonda"("Stop on request") and engage in intellectual activities and research. As a motto for the guests, this message is a declaration of intent of what Temporars Susch has to offer. A space under one roof for those craving a pause from their usual routines and a cordial invitation to inhabit a setting free from tension and production pressures. 

Following its contemplative principle, Temporars Susch offers a stay for those in the state of flux, encouraging its residents to embrace and dive into cultural debates, and to sustain the continued reappraisal and critical analysis of (art)historical ideas. As a non-production-oriented programme, it stresses the need for, and points out the relevance of, critical reflection and self-reflection, of reconsideration and redefinition of stances, of deepened research and constant revisiting and reformulating of practices – we wish to nurture and challenge the residents' work and practices by providing them an input to think. 

Temporars Susch offers individual residencies to artists, writers, curators, cultural producers and researchers from diverse backgrounds regardless of the moment in their career development. The residencies are organized either through regular open calls dedicated for short term stays (up to 4 weeks), direct invitations by Muzeum Susch, as well as through partnerships with other institutions.

The programme is addressed to those who are open and ready for sharing their ideas and practices, creating a cultural debate with fellow residents, as well as with the local, cultural and academic communities, by engaging in activities such as workshops, artist talks, panel discussions, performances or any format ‘in between’. The presence of the residents of Temporars Susch and their contributions are vital for the spirit of the institution. 

  

Submission deadline for the residency slots for February and May 2020 is currently closed.

 

Please follow us for information about future Open Calls, they will be announced through our website and social media.  



↘ OPEN CALL

↘ CONTACT

Temporars Susch › Über TEMPORARS SUSCH

→ TEMPORARS
SUSCH

"Fermada sün dumonda"

"Fermada sün dumonda" heisst es bei der Ankunft in Susch, in den roten Zügen der Rhaetischen Bahn, die durch die Bündner Alpenregion ins Engadin fahren. Dort befindet sich ein mittelalterliches Kloster, das eine wichtige Station auf dem Weg derjenigen war, die einst, vor Jahrhunderten, auf der Suche nach Buße, Dankbarkeit und Besinnung nach Santiago de Compostela und Rom pilgerten. In den Räumen, in denen sich die Pilger früher auf ihren Reisen aufgehalten und erholt haben, sind jetzt das Muzeum Susch und die Art Stations Foundation CH untergebracht.

Ab 2020 wird die Chasa (das Haus) im historischen Komplex, der das Museum und die Stiftung beherbergt, wieder die Heimat von Reisenden sein, die an dem neuen Residenzprogramm Temporars Susch teilnehmen. In Anlehnung an das kulturelle und wissenschaftliche Erbe von Friedrich Nietzsche, Thomas Mann, Vaslav Nijinsky und JM Basquiat, die, mit vielen anderen, das Engadin als Ort der Inspiration und der intellektuellen Auseinandersetzung entdeckten, richtet sich das Programm an diejenigen, die bewusst entscheiden, eine "Fermada sün dumonda" (einen "Stopp auf Anfrage") zu machen und sich intellektuell zu engagieren. Als Motto für die Gäste ist diese Botschaft eine Absichtserklärung: Ein Raum unter einem gemeinsamen Dach für diejenigen, die eine Pause von ihren gewohnten Routinen einlegen möchten und eine Einladung, sich frei von Anspannung und Produktionsdruck zu bewegen.

Temporars Susch folgt dem kontemplativen Prinzip und bietet denjenigen, die sich im Wandel befinden, einen Aufenthalt an. Es ermutigt seine Bewohner*innen, sich mit kulturellen Debatten auseinanderzusetzen, diese zu vertiefen und (kunst-)historische Ideen neu zu bewerten und kritisch zu analysieren. Als nicht-produktionsorientiertes Programm unterstreicht es die Notwendigkeit und Relevanz kritischer Reflexion und Selbst-Reflexion, vertiefter Forschung und der ständigen Überarbeitung der eigenen Praxis, die Notwendigkeit der Überprüfung und Neudefinition von Standpunkten, – so, wie wir uns wünschen, die Arbeit und die Methoden der Bewohner*innen zu verändern und Nachdenken herauszufordern. 

Temporars Susch bietet Künstler*innen, Schriftsteller*innen, Kurator*innen, Kulturproduzent*innen und Forscher*innen mit unterschiedlicher Herkunft individuelle Aufenthalte an, unabhängig vom Status ihrer aktuellen Karriere. Die Residenzen werden entweder in wiederkehrenden, öffentlichen Ausschreibungen für Kurzaufenthalte (bis zu 4 Wochen), durch direkte Einladungen von Muzeum Susch oder durch Partnerschaften mit anderen Institutionen organisiert. 

Das Programm richtet sich an diejenigen, die offen und bereit sind, ihre Ideen und Arbeitsweisen im Austausch zu präsentieren und eine kulturelle Debatte mit den Mitbewohner*innen sowie mit der lokalen, kulturellen und akademischen Gemeinschaft zu führen, indem sie Aktivitäten wie Workshops, Gespräche, Podiumsdiskussionen, Performances oder Formate ‚dazwischen‘ realisieren. Die Anwesenheit der Bewohner*innen vonTemporars Susch vor Ort und ihre Beiträge sind für den Geist der Institution von entscheidender Bedeutung. 

 

Die aktuelle Ausschreibung richtet sich an Interessent*innen für Residenzen, die für Februar und Mai 2020 geplant sind.

 

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserem aktuellen OPEN CALL.



↘ OPEN CALL

↘ APPLY NOW

↘ CONTACT