Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Christos Papadopoulos 'WATERLOO'

→ ACZIUN
SUSCH

Christos Papadopoulos 'WATERLOO'

13 April - 19 April 2020

/ research residency

 

POSTPONED

  

Christos Papadopoulos’ work is informed by persistent preoccupations; rhythmic nuances of the body, collectiveness on stage not only as a way to think of movement within the realm of choreography but also as a tool to reflect broader natural phenomena. His choreographic ideas stem from a phenomenological perspective, placing the body at the heart of every research. Theatrical elements, such as set design and costumes are reduced to a minimum, leaving sound and lighting to suggest minor variations in the duration of a piece. His view frequently demands the persistence of our gaze, the reinterpretation of our way to perceive dance or even the “greater” image.

For his new piece that he will conduct research for in Susch and which will be premiered in spring 2021, Christos Papadopoulos consciously seeks to explore further our perceptual biases. His investigation begins with a simple question: Are our sensory perceptions trustworthy? — Meaning: When and to what extent is our perception veridical and not just a perceptual “waterloo”, which allows all kinds of unexpected things to arise?

And if “deception” is a value inherent in life as it is in performing arts, why do we often buttress our sensory judgments with biases and stereotypes that allow us only to perceive what seems like a limited version of the surrounding reality? If “failure” is a valid component in discovering the unknown or finding access to the unexpected, could we use this particularity to suggest a deviant look at a familiar dance vocabulary?

In addition to the research residency, Saturday 18.04/7 pm we will present Christos Papadopoulos’ acclaimed quartet OPUS The performance in the Muzeum Susch auditorium will be the first ever gallery version of the work.

  

 Christos Papadopoulos ©George Kotsifakis
 

 

Christos Papadopoulos is currently one of the most recognized and awarded contemporary European choreographers. He graduated from the School for New Dance Development (SNDO) of the Amsterdam School of the Arts, The Netherlands in 2003 and from the Dramatic School of the National Theatre of Greece in 1999. Christos is a founding member of the dance company Leon and the Wolf. His personal projects include: ION / Paris, 2017 / OPUS /Athens, 2016/ ELVEDON / Athens 201/ COUNTER RESET / Amsterdam 2003. As a performer Christos has participated in several dance projects by Dimitris Papaioannou, Alexandra Waierstall (Noema Dance Company), Kirstin Kuyl Anderson (WEGO dance company), Robert Stein, among others. He has also worked extensively as a choreographer and movement director for theatrical productions. Christos was a member of the choreography team responsible for the opening ceremony of the European Games in Baku 2015 and opening and closing ceremonies of the Olympic Games in Athens 2004. Since 2013 he collaborates with Odeion Athinon Theatre Academy as an instructor of choreography, composition and improvisation. He has also taught workshops on technique, composition and improvisation at many different festivals in Europe. His ELVEDON and OPUS have both been listed as top choices in the priority list of the Aerowaves network, which introduces the most interesting European dance performances each year. His new work, WATERLOO, is going to be co-produced by Onassis Foundation in Athens and several international partners and will premiere during the Dance Biennial at La Briqueterie Paris in spring 2021.

Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Christos Papadopoulos 'WATERLOO'

→ ACZIUN
SUSCH

Christos Papadopoulos 'WATERLOO'

13. April - 19. April 2020

/ Forschungsresidenz

   

VERSCHOBEN

 

Das Werk von Christos Papadopoulos ist geprägt von Themenkomplexen, die ihn persönlich immer wieder beschäftigen, so zum Beispiel die rhythmischen Nuancen des Körpers oder Kollektivität auf der Bühne – nicht nur als eine Möglichkeit, Bewegungen im Kontext der Choreografie wahrzunehmen, sondern auch als Werkzeug, um verschiedene Naturphänomene reflektieren zu können. Seine choreografischen Ideen entspringen einer phänomenologischen Perspektive, wobei Christos Papadopoulos den Körper in den Mittelpunkt seiner Forschung stellt. Elemente wie Bühnenbild oder Kostüme werden auf ein Minimum reduziert, während Ton und Licht auf subtile Art und Weise den Verlauf seiner Stücke untermalen. Seine Sichtweise fordert häufig die Beharrlichkeit unseres Blickes und die Neuinterpretation unserer Art, Tanz oder sogar das «grosse Ganze» wahrzunehmen.

In Susch wird Christos Papadopoulos an seinem neuen Stück, das im Frühjahr 2021 uraufgeführt werden soll, arbeiten und untersuchen, wie unsere Wahrnehmung unsere Vorurteile speist. Er beginnt dabei mit der einfachen Frage: Ist unsere sensorische Wahrnehmung zuverlässig? – Und wenn nicht: Handelt es sich bei unserer Wahrnehmung um ein «Waterloo», das alle möglichen unerwarteten Situationen zulässt?

Und wenn «Täuschung» ein Grösse ist, die sowohl im Leben als auch in den darstellenden Künsten eine Rolle spielt, warum untermauern wir dann unsere sensorischen Urteile oft mit Vorurteilen und Stereotypen, die uns nur ermöglichen, eine scheinbar begrenzte Variante der uns umgebenden Realität wahrzunehmen? Wenn «Misserfolg» eine gültige Komponente in der Entdeckung des Unbekannten oder in der Suche nach einem Zugang zum Unerwarteten ist, könnten wir diese Besonderheit nutzen, um einen neuen Blick auf das gewohnte Tanzvokabular vorzuschlagen?

Neben der Forschungsresidenz werden wir das gefeierte Quartett OPUS von Christos Papadopoulos im Auditorium des Muzeum Susch vorstellen – zum ersten Mal überhaupt ausserhalb eines Theaterraums.

  


Christos Papadopoulos ©George Kotsifakis

 
 

Christos Papadopoulos ist derzeit einer der bekanntesten zeitgenössischen europäischen Choreografen und wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet. Er absolvierte 2003 die School for New Dance Development (SNDO) der Amsterdamer Kunstschule in den Niederlanden und 1999 die Dramatic School des griechischen Nationaltheaters. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Tanzkompanie Leon and the Wolf. Zu seinen eigenen Projekten gehören: ION, Paris, 2017 / OPUS, Athen, 2016 / ELVEDON, Athen 201 / COUNTER RESET, Amsterdam 2003. Als Performer hat Christos an mehreren Tanzprojekten mitgewirkt, u. a. von Dimitris Papaioannou, Alexandra Waierstall (Noema Dance Company), Kirstin Kuyl Anderson (WEGO Tanzkompanie), Robert Stein. Zudem hat er als Choreograf für Theaterproduktionen gearbeitet. Christos Papadopoulos war Mitglied des Choreografenteams, das für die Eröffnungsfeier der Europaspiele in Baku 2015 und die Eröffnungs- und Abschlusszeremonien der Olympischen Spiele in Athen 2004 verantwortlich war. Seit 2013 arbeitet er an der Odeion Athinon Drama School (Athens Conservatoire) als Dozent für Choreografie, Komposition und Improvisation. Ausserdem hat er im auf vielen verschiedenen europäischen Festivals Workshops zu Technik, Komposition und Improvisation geleitet. Seine Stücke ELVEDON und OPUS wurden beide in der Prioritätenliste des Aerowaves-Netzwerks aufgeführt, das jedes Jahr die interessantesten europäischen Tanzaufführungen vorstellt. Das neue Werk WATERLOO wird von der Onassis Foundation in Athen und in Zusammenarbeit mit mehreren internationalen Partnern produziert und im Frühjahr 2021 während der Tanzbiennale in la Briqueterie in Paris uraufgeführt.