Exposiziuns Temporaras › Upcoming › Feliza Bursztyn: Welding Madness

Feliza Bursztyn: Welding Madness

18th December 2021 - 26th June 2022

“En un país de machistas, ¡hágase la loca!”

“In a Sexist Country, pretend to be the Mad One!”

-Feliza Bursztyn, 1979


Feliza Bursztyn: Welding Madness is the first museum retrospective of Colombian artist Feliza Bursztyn (b. Bogotá, 1933 - d. Paris, 1982) to be presented outside of her home country. Bringing together approximately 50 sculptures, films and installations as well as archival material, most of which are shown for the first time in Europe, this ambitious, career-spanning survey at Muzeum Susch positions Bursztyn as one of Latin America’s most important sculptors of the 20th century.

Feliza Bursztyn in her studio, 1981. Courtesy Estate Feliza Bursztyn
Feliza Bursztyn in her studio, 1981. Courtesy Estate Feliza Bursztyn

In 1979, Feliza Bursztyn was interviewed by Maritza Uribe de Urdinola, the founder of the Museo de Arte Moderna La Tertulia in Cali. Bursztyn reflected on her life, family and work. She also uttered the phrase that encapsulated the strategy that had defined her work for decades: in a patriarchal society, women have no choice but to feign madness.

Born Jewish in a Catholic country, the child of Polish immigrants, and a feminist in a country dominated by the conservatism of the church, Bursztyn was an outsider. It was from this position that she witnessed the rapid industrialization occurring throughout Latin America in the postwar era. An ardent supporter of the Cuban Revolution, Bursztyn was skeptical of the pervasive enthusiasm among political and cultural elites for developmentalism which, in her view, exacerbated extant social and economic divisions. Married at nineteen and divorced with three children at the age of twenty-four, Bursztyn rejected the circumscribed nature of women’s lives in Colombia and intentionally flouted social mores, embracing the mantle of La Loca (the mad one), as she was dubbed by the press. Her political views informed the material and the content of her sculpture and drove her to challenge the social and artistic status quo.

Bursztyn’s art and life were deeply and constantly intertwined. Her parents, Polish Jews, set out in 1933 for South America. When they reached Columbia, they were greeted with the news of Hitler’s victory in Germany’s parliamentary elections and decided to stay. Feliza was born the same year. Her father, trained as a rabbi, established himself as a textile manufacturer and became a leader within the city’s tiny Jewish community. His rapid success afforded his daughter the opportunity to study art in Bogotá and later at the Art Students League in New York, as well as the Académie de la Grande Chaumière, Paris. This position of relative privilege allowed Bursztyn to travel widely, which she would continue to do throughout her life. Thus, she became familiar with contemporary artistic developments and established relationships across the United States, Europe, and Latin America

Feliza Bursztyn, Sin titulo (Untitled), ca 1980. Courtesy private collection © Photo Ernesto Monsalve
Feliza Bursztyn, Sin titulo (Untitled), ca 1980. Courtesy private collection © Photo Ernesto Monsalve

Her studio in Bogotá – a converted garage next to her father’s factory – became a meeting point for artists, writers, journalists, musicians, politicians and critics. It was there that she produced her first Chatarras (Junk Sculptures) in 1961. Bronze – the material she was trained to work with in Paris –, was scarce in Columbia so she turned to junkyard scraps - discarded fragments of machines, tires, cables, bolts and other metal bits. She would use these materials throughout her career adding hand-dyed fabrics, motors, light, and sound to produce increasingly complex, room-sized installations. Eventually, Bursztyn produced immersive, experiential spaces: her sculptures clung to walls, hung from ceilings, perched on stages and carried out choreographed dances set to music in dramatically lit and adorned rooms. In multiple ways, her works were calculated to disturb, provoke, push the limits, and reject the status quo. She collaborated with writers, experimental musicians, filmmakers, and theater directors in works that drew inspiration from sources ranging from the natural environment and popular culture to psychoanalysis.

Bursztyn’s political views, extravagant lifestyle and her vociferous support of left-wing thinking and causes resulted in her frequent questioning and occasional detention by the state security forces. Following an arrest and two-day detention in 1981, she fled the country and was granted political asylum in Mexico. She emigrated to Paris the following year where she died suddenly at the age of forty-nine.

Pablo Leyva, Feliza Bursztyn and Rosemary's baby, double exposure, ca. 1972 © Photo by Pablo Leyva
Pablo Leyva, Feliza Bursztyn and Rosemary's baby, double exposure, ca. 1972 © Photo by Pablo Leyva

Feliza Bursztyn: Welding Madness is the artist’s first comprehensive retrospective to be mounted outside of Colombia. The exhibition presents sculptures and two-dimensional works from each stage of the artist’s development, showcasing the depth and breadth of Bursztyn’s tragically brief and brilliant career.

The exhibition is curated by Marta Dziewańska, Curator at Kunstmuseum Bern and Abigail Winograd, Curator at Smart Museum of Art, University of Chicago. It will be accompanied by a fully illustrated book published by Skira.

Exposiziuns Temporaras › Kommende Ausstellung › Feliza Bursztyn: Welding Madness

Feliza Bursztyn: Welding Madness

18 Dezember 2021 - 26 Juni 2022

„En un país de machistas, ¡hágase la loca!“

„In einem sexistischen Land, tu so, als wärst du der Verrückte!“

-Feliza Bursztyn, 1979


Feliza Bursztyn: Welding Madness ist die erste Museumsretrospektive der kolumbianischen Künstlerin Feliza Bursztyn (geb. 1933 in Bogotá - gest. 1982 in Paris) die außerhalb ihres Heimatlandes gezeigt wird. Mit rund 50 Skulpturen, Filmen und Installationen sowie Archivmaterial, von denen die meisten zum ersten Mal in Europa gezeigt werden, positioniert diese umfangreiche Werkschau im Muzeum Susch Bursztyn als eine der wichtigsten Bildhauerinnen Lateinamerikas im 20. Jahrhundert.

Feliza Bursztyn in ihrem Atelier, 1981. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Estate Feliza Bursztyn
Feliza Bursztyn in ihrem Atelier, 1981. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Estate Feliza Bursztyn

1979 wurde Feliza Bursztyn von Maritza Uribe de Urdinola, der Gründerin des Museo de Arte Moderna La Tertulia in Cali, interviewt. Bursztyn reflektiert darin über ihr Leben, ihre Familie und ihre Arbeit. Sie äußerte auch den Satz, der die Strategie, die ihre Arbeit seit Jahrzehnten bestimmt, auf den Punkt bringt: In einer patriarchalischen Gesellschaft haben Frauen keine andere Wahl, als Wahnsinn vorzutäuschen.

Als Jüdin in einem katholischen Land geboren, als Kind polnischer Einwanderer und als Feministin in einem Land, das vom Konservatismus der Kirche bestimmt wurde, war Bursztyn eine Außenseiterin. Von dieser Position aus erlebte sie die rasante Industrialisierung, die sich in der Nachkriegszeit in ganz Lateinamerika vollzog. Als glühende Anhängerin der kubanischen Revolution stand Bursztyn dem allgegenwärtigen Enthusiasmus der politischen und kulturellen Eliten für den Developmentalismus skeptisch gegenüber, der ihrer Ansicht nach die bestehenden sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Spaltungen noch verschärfte. Mit neunzehn Jahren verheiratet und mit vierundzwanzig Jahren mit drei Kindern geschieden, lehnte Bursztyn die Einschränkungen, die das Leben der Frauen in Kolumbien kennzeichneten ab und setzte sich bewusst über die gesellschaftlichen Normen hinweg, indem sie tatsächlich die Rolle der La Loca (die Verrückte) spielte, wie sie in der Presse tituliert wurde. Ihre politischen Ansichten beeinflussten das Material und den Inhalt ihrer Skulpturen und trieben sie dazu an, den sozialen und künstlerischen Status quo herauszufordern.

Bursztyns Kunst und ihr Leben waren stets eng miteinander verwoben. Ihre Eltern, polnische Juden, machten sich 1933 auf den Weg nach Südamerika. Als sie in Kolumbien ankamen, wurden sie mit der Nachricht von Hitlers Sieg bei den deutschen Parlamentswahlen konfrontiert und beschlossen zu bleiben. Feliza wurde noch im selben Jahr geboren. Ihr Vater, der als Rabbiner ausgebildet war, etablierte sich als Textilfabrikant und wurde zu einer führenden Persönlichkeit in der kleinen jüdischen Gemeinde der Stadt. Sein schneller Erfolg ermöglichte es seiner Tochter, in Bogotá und später an der Art Students League in New York sowie an der Académie de la Grande Chaumière in Paris Kunst zu studieren. Diese relativ privilegierte Stellung ermöglichte es Bursztyn, weit zu reisen, was sie ihr ganzes Leben lang tun sollte. So wurde sie mit den zeitgenössischen künstlerischen Entwicklungen vertraut und knüpfte Kontakte in den Vereinigten Staaten, Europa und Lateinamerika.

Feliza Bursztyn, Sin titulo (Ohne Titel), um 1980. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Privatsammlung © Foto Ernesto Monsalve
Feliza Bursztyn, Sin titulo (Ohne Titel), um 1980. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Privatsammlung © Foto Ernesto Monsalve

Ihr Atelier in Bogotá – eine umgebaute Garage neben der Fabrik ihres Vaters – wurde zu einem Treffpunkt für Künstler, Schriftsteller, Journalisten, Musiker, Politiker und Kritiker. Dort schuf sie 1961 ihre ersten Chatarras (Schrott-Skulpturen). Bronze – das Material, mit dem sie in Paris zu arbeiten gelernt hatte – war in Kolumbien knapp, also wandte sie sich den Schrottplätzen zu – wo sie ausrangierte Fragmente von Maschinen, Reifen, Kabeln, Bolzen und anderen Metallteilen einsammelte. Im Laufe ihrer Karriere verwendete sie diese Materialien und fügte handgefärbte Stoffe, Motoren, Licht und Ton hinzu, um immer komplexere, raumfüllende Installationen zu schaffen. Schließlich schuf Bursztyn immersive, erfahrbare Räume: Ihre Skulpturen klebten an Wänden, hingen von der Decke, thronten auf Bühnen und führten choreografierte Tänze zu Musik in dramatisch beleuchteten und geschmückten Räumlichkeiten aus. Ihre Werke waren in mehrfacher Hinsicht darauf angelegt, zu stören, zu provozieren, Grenzen zu überwinden und den Status quo zurückzuweisen. Sie arbeitete mit Schriftstellern, experimentellen Musikern, Filmemachern und Theaterregisseuren zusammen und ließ sich dabei von der Natur, der Popkultur und der Psychoanalyse inspirieren.

Bursztyns politische Ansichten, ihr extravaganter Lebensstil und ihr lautstarkes Eintreten für linkes Gedankengut und linke Anliegen führten dazu, dass sie häufig von den staatlichen Sicherheitskräften verhört und gelegentlich sogar festgenommen wurde. Nach einer Festnahme und einer zweitägigen Inhaftierung im Jahr 1981 floh sie aus dem Land und erhielt in Mexiko politisches Asyl. Im folgenden Jahr emigrierte sie nach Paris, wo sie plötzlich im Alter von neunundvierzig Jahren starb.



Pablo Leyva, Feliza Bursztyn und Rosemarys Baby, Doppelbelichtung, ca. 1972 © Foto: Pablo Leyva
Pablo Leyva, Feliza Bursztyn und Rosemarys Baby, Doppelbelichtung, ca. 1972 © Foto: Pablo Leyva


Feliza Bursztyn: Welding Madness ist die erste umfassende Retrospektive der Künstlerin, die außerhalb Kolumbiens gezeigt wird. Die Ausstellung präsentiert Skulpturen und zweidimensionale Werke aus jeder Phase der Entwicklung der Künstlerin und zeigt die ganze Bandbreite von Bursztyns tragisch kurzer und brillanter Karriere.

Die Ausstellung wird kuratiert von Marta Dziewańska, Kuratorin am Kunstmuseum Bern und Abigail Winograd, Kuratorin am Smart Museum of Art, University of Chicago. Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein reich illustrierter Katalog bei Skira Editore.