Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Eszter Gal (HUN), Michiel Keuper, Peter Pleyer (GER)

26.01-02.02.2022

Eszter Gal (HUN), Michiel Keuper, Peter Pleyer (GER)

Terrestrial Transit

research residency

Acziun Susch is happy to welcome research residency in a frame of Terrestial Transit – an international project to be realized and premiered in the second half of 2022 in Berlin and developed by cranky bodies a/company established by Berlin-based artists Peter Pleyer and Michile Keuper.

The project has been born out of the realization that the critical practice of artistic interventions in Eastern Europe – especially in former communist countries like Poland and Hungary – became important again today in the light of the strengthening of right-wing authoritarian governments. Thus, Terrestrial Transit refers to political forms of protest in the tradition of Polish and Hungarian dance and performance art before the fall of the wall.

Peter Pleyer. Courtesy the Artist. Photo credit: Patrick Beelaert
Peter Pleyer. Courtesy the Artist. Photo credit: Patrick Beelaert

It is conceived as a journey – from Berlin (Sophiensaele theatre) via Ponderosa/Stolzenhagen (collective choreographic space close to the Polish/German border) to Szczecin and the Baltic Sea (final stop on the creative process route before conceiving the final work). The choreographic peregrination will be documented in the form of a film diary (by Stella Horta) and compiled in a performative film installation to create an embodied archive of the forms of political protest in the tradition of the Polish and Hungarian dance and performance art.

The project will reconnect with existing friendships, places, and relations made by the artistic and socio-political experiences of the established 2020 A/company ensemble members, combining them into new cartography.

Michiel Keuper. Courtesy the Artist. Photo credit: Jakub Wittchen
Michiel Keuper. Courtesy the Artist. Photo credit: Jakub Wittchen

With opening up, the improvisational and interdisciplinary work from the urban space of Berlin into the broader surroundings and natural landscapes, the representational space of the theatre will be left, and they will research alternative modes of participation. The journey will be framed by a kick-off weekend in the Sophiensælen (30th May until 05th June 2022) as well as a concluding performative audiovisual installation in Dock11 /Eden***** (October 2022).

Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Eszter Gal / HUN, Michiel Keuper, Peter Pleyer / GER

26.01-02.02.2022

Eszter Gal / HUN, Michiel Keuper, Peter Pleyer / GER

Terrestrial Transit

research residency

Acziun Susch freut sich, eine Forschungsresidenz im Rahmen von Terrestial Transit willkommen zu heißen - ein internationales Projekt, das in der zweiten Jahreshälfte 2022 in Berlin realisiert und uraufgeführt wird und von cranky bodies a/company, gegründet von den in Berlin lebenden Künstlern Peter Pleyer und Michile Keuper, entwickelt wurde.

Das Projekt ist aus der Erkenntnis heraus entstanden, dass die kritische Praxis künstlerischer Interventionen in Osteuropa - insbesondere in ehemals kommunistischen Ländern wie Polen und Ungarn - angesichts des Erstarkens rechtsautoritärer Regierungen heute wieder an Bedeutung gewinnt. So bezieht sich Terrestrial Transit auf politische Protestformen in der Tradition der polnischen und ungarischen Tanz- und Performancekunst vor dem Fall der Mauer.

Peter Pleyer. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Künstlers. Bildnachweis: Patrick Beelaert
Peter Pleyer. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Künstlers. Bildnachweis: Patrick Beelaert

Es ist als eine Reise konzipiert - von Berlin (Sophiensaele-Theater) über Ponderosa/Stolzenhagen (kollektiver choreografischer Raum nahe der polnisch-deutschen Grenze) nach Szczecin und an die Ostsee (letzte Station auf der Route des kreativen Prozesses vor der Konzeption des endgültigen Werks). Die choreografische Wanderung wird in Form eines Filmtagebuchs (von Stella Horta) dokumentiert und in einer performativen Filminstallation zusammengefasst, um ein verkörperlichtes Archiv der Formen des politischen Protests in der Tradition der polnischen und ungarischen Tanz- und Performancekunst zu schaffen.

Das Projekt knüpft an bestehende Freundschaften, Orte und Beziehungen an, die durch die künstlerischen und soziopolitischen Erfahrungen der etablierten Ensemblemitglieder von 2020 A/company entstanden sind, und verbindet sie zu einer neuen Kartografie.

Michiel Keuper. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Künstlers. Bildnachweis: Jakub Wittchen
Michiel Keuper. Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Künstlers. Bildnachweis: Jakub Wittchen

Mit der Öffnung der improvisatorischen und interdisziplinären Arbeit aus dem urbanen Raum Berlins in die weitere Umgebung und Naturlandschaften wird der Repräsentationsraum des Theaters verlassen und nach alternativen Formen der Partizipation geforscht. Eingerahmt wird die Reise von einem Kick-off-Wochenende in den Sophiensælen (30. Mai bis 05. Juni 2022) sowie einer abschließenden performativen audiovisuellen Installation im Dock11 /Eden***** (Oktober 2022).