Acziun Susch › ¬ PERFORMANCE WEEKEND

MS Performance Weekend

Friday 20 & Saturday 21. 05 / Muzeum Susch


From Friday 20th to Saturday 21st May, Muzeum Susch will bring together collaborators across dance, choreography, visual art, film and literature involved in the programme of Muzeum Susch to share recent manifestations of their work with the public.

Participants will include celebrated writer Ariane Koch and musician Nadja Zela; dancers and choreographers Eszter Gal, Michiel Keuper, Peter Pleyer and Maria Zimpel; Director of Photography Claudio von Planta; and curators Joanna Leśnierowska and Agnieszka Sosnowska.

MS Performance Weekend accompanies and celebrates the launch of MS#3 reader. The publication brings together carefully selected contributions that highlight, further develop and discuss different aspects of Muzeum Susch’s recent activities.


Friday 20th May

6 PM

Opening the programming on Friday is Ariane Koch, the Swiss author and ex-resident of Muzeum Susch’s residency programme. She will read an extract from her celebrated debut novel Die Aufdrängung (The Imposition). Literary critic Paul Jandl, Neue Zurcher Zeitung, said of the book, ‘Comparing this magnificent first novel to the great Kafka does it no disservice on the contrary’. This will be followed by a conversation with the public.


Saturday 21st May

2 PM

On Saturday, Eszter Gal (Budapest), Michiel Keuper and Peter Pleyer (Berlin) will dance, talk and visually compose in Muzeum Susch’s Auditorium. Their lecture-performance Cranky Interventions. Dance and visual arts in choreographic dialogue expands on their past exchanges as collaborators and their research for the new project Terrestrial Transit that they initiated while in residency at Muzeum Susch in January 2022. Inspired by the emancipation between dance and choreography, they will take over and play within Muzeum Susch's auditorium settings. Permanently installed in the auditorium, artist Xanti Schawinsky and his painting will watch over the weekend of performances. From Bauhaus to Black Mountain College to New York City and back home to Switzerland, Schawinsky’s story will lend us a red thread as participants weave the past into the present through their embodied histories and practices.

4 PM

Joanna Leśnierowska and Agnieszka Sosnowska - curators at Muzeum Susch - will invite attendees for a walk through the current exhibition Feliza Bursztyn: Welding Madness dedicated to the pioneering Colombian artist to shed some light on movement and fascinating performative aspects of her oeuvre.

6 PM

The programme will close with the anticipated Swiss premiere of WATERDANCES / Yes Poems, a film created by Maria Zimpel in close collaboration with Claudio von Planta (as the director of photography) following her residency in Susch. Zimpel invites you to dance through the Engadin Alps. The relation between dance (practice), natural landscape and the framing of it by a camera the focus of this experimental, feature film. WATERDANCES /Yes Poems explores Zimpel's idea of the body as a transmitter and the ecofeminist idea of embodied nature. It tells the non-linear story of a body’s encounter with natural forces. The screening will be followed by a conversation with the artists. 

Curators: Joanna Leśnierowska, Agnieszka Sosnowska

Producer: Aleksandra Wojtaszek


TICKETS:

The entrance to each event is 20 CHF.

You can buy the tickets directly at Muzeum Susch reception or book them here.



↘ Programme short

↘ 20.05, 18.00, Ariane Koch / Nadja Zela, '​​Die Aufdrängung' - performative reading & concert

↘ 21.05, 14.00, Eszter Gal, Michiel Keuper, Peter Pleyer, 'Cranky Interventions. Dance and visual arts in choreographic dialogue'

↘ 21.05, 16.00, exhibition guided tour

↘ 21.05, 18.00, Maria Zimpel, 'Waterdances/Yes Poems' - Swiss film premiere

↘ TICKETS

Acziun Susch › ¬ PERFORMANCE WEEKEND

MS Performance Weekend

Freitag 20 & Samstag 21. 05 / Muzeum Susch

Von Freitag, den 20. bis Samstag, den 21. Mai bringt das Muzeum Susch Künstler aus den Bereichen Tanz, Choreografie, bildende Kunst, Film und Literatur zusammen, die am Programm des Muzeum Susch mitwirken, um die aktuellen Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit mit der Öffentlichkeit zu teilen.

Zu den Mitwirkenden gehören die berühmte Schriftstellerin Ariane Koch, Musikerin Nadja Zela, die Tänzer und Choreografen Eszter Gal, Michiel Keuper, Peter Pleyer und Maria Zimpel, der Kameramann Claudio von Planta sowie die Kuratoren Joanna Leśnierowska und Agnieszka Sosnowska.

Das MS Performance Weekend begleitet und feiert den Launch des MS#3 Readers. Die Publikation enthält sorgfältig ausgewählte Beiträge, die verschiedene Aspekte der jüngsten Aktivitäten des Muzeum Susch hervorheben, weiterentwickeln und diskutieren.


Freitag, 20. Mai

18 Uhr

Am Freitag wird das Programm von Ariane Koch eröffnet, einer Schweizer Autorin und ehemalige Stipendiatin mehrerer Residency-Programme des Muzeum Susch. Sie liest einen Auszug aus ihrem gefeierten Debütroman Die Aufdrängung vor. Der Literaturkritiker Paul Jandl von der Neuen Zürcher Zeitung sagte über das Buch: Der Vergleich dieses großartigen ersten Romans mit dem großen Kafka leistet ihm keinen schlechten Dienst – ganz im Gegenteil.


Samstag, 21. Mai

14 Uhr

Am Samstag werden Eszter Gal (Budapest), Michiel Keuper und Peter Pleyer (Berlin) im Auditorium des Muzeum Susch tanzen, erzählen und visuell komponieren. Die Vorlesung und Performance Cranky Interventions. Der Tanz und die bildende Kunst im choreografischen Dialog baut auf ihrem bisherigen Austausch als Projektmitarbeiter und ihren Recherchen für das neue Projekt Terrestrial Transit auf, das sie im Januar 2022 während ihres Aufenthalts im Muzeum Susch initiiert haben. Inspiriert von der Emanzipation zwischen Tanz und Choreografie werden sie das Auditorium des Muzeum Susch übernehmen und dort performen. Der fest im Auditorium mitwirkende Künstler Xanti Schawinsky und seine Malerei werden das Performance-Wochenende begleiten. Von Bauhaus über das Black Mountain College bis nach New York City und zurück in die Schweiz – Schawinskys Geschichte liefert einen roten Faden, während die Mitwirkenden die Vergangenheit durch ihre verkörperten Geschichten und Praktiken mit der Gegenwart verweben.


16 Uhr

Joanna Leśnierowska und Agnieszka Sosnowska – Kuratorinnen am Muzeum Susch – laden zu einem Spaziergang durch die aktuelle Ausstellung Feliza Bursztyn: Welding Madness ein, die der wegweisenden kolumbianischen Künstlerin gewidmet ist, um etwas Licht auf die Bewegungskraft und faszinierenden performativen Aspekte ihres Werks zu werfen.


18 Uhr

Das Programm endet mit der erwarteten Schweizer Premiere von WATERDANCES / Yes Poems, einem Film, der von Maria Zimpel in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Claudio von Planta (Kameramann) nach ihrem Aufenthalt in Susch gedreht wurde. Zimpel lädt zum Tanz durch die Engadiner Alpen ein. Das Verhältnis von Tanz (Praxis), Naturlandschaft und deren Einrahmung durch die Kamera steht im Mittelpunkt dieses experimentellen Spielfilms. WATERDANCES /Yes Poems erforscht Zimpels Vorstellung vom Körper als Sender und ihre ökofeministische Vorstellung von verkörperter Natur. Der Film erzählt die nichtlineare Geschichte der Begegnung eines Körpers mit natürlichen Kräften. Im Anschluss an die Vorführung findet ein Gespräch mit den Künstlern statt.


Kuratorinnen: Joanna Leśnierowska, Agnieszka Sosnowska

Produzentin: Aleksandra Wojtaszek

EINTRITTSKARTEN:

Der Eintritt zu jeder Veranstaltung beträgt 20 CHF.

Sie können die Tickets direkt am Empfang des Muzeum Susch kaufen oder hier buchen.



↘ Kurzes Programm

↘ 20.05, 18.00, Ariane Koch / Nadja Zela, ​​'Die Aufdrängung' - Performative Lesung & Konzert

↘ 21.05, 14.00, Eszter Gal, Michiel Keuper, Peter Pleyer, 'Cranky Interventions. Tanz und bildende Kunst im choreografischen Dialog'

↘ 21.05, 16.00, Ausstellungsführung

↘ 21.05, 18.00, Maria Zimpel, 'Waterdances/Yes Poems' - Filmpremiere

↘ EINTRITTSKARTEN