Exposiziuns Temporaras › Upcoming › Hannah Villiger: Amaze Me

Hannah Villiger: Amaze Me

Curated by 

Madeleine Schuppli & Yasmin Afschar

In collaboration with Foundation 

THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER

 Open to the public: 

4 January 2023 

Please join us for the official opening: 

7 January 2023, 15:30 – 19:00 

The exhibition will be on view until 2 July 2023


Portrait of Hannah Villiger, 1976, Rom. Photo: Trix Wetter. Copyright The Estate of Hannah Villiger
Portrait of Hannah Villiger, 1976, Rom. Photo: Trix Wetter. Copyright Foundation THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER

In winter/spring 2023, the Muzeum Susch will present a comprehensive survey exhibition of the Swiss artist Hannah Villiger (1951-1997). This is the largest presentation in over 20 years. 

The exhibition offers the opportunity to rediscover or get to know the artist for the first time through an extensive selection of works. An arc is drawn from her sculptural works created in the 1970s to the black-and-white photographs and the works with the Polaroid camera that Villiger created beginning in the 1980s. These fragmentary close-ups of her own body were enlarged via an internegative and mounted on aluminium, either individually or assembled into room-sized blocks.

Work 1980/81, Aargauer Kunsthaus Aarau. Copyright The Estate of Hannah Villiger
Work 1980/81, Aargauer Kunsthaus Aarau. Copyright Foundation THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER

On display are vintage prints, existing blocks, and examples of these large-format works, produced for the first time for the exhibition in Susch. Further discoveries are drawings and paper objects from the estate. In addition to the body-related works, Hannah Villiger also created a series of Polaroid-based city views. The immediate view from her work and living space of the urban environment in Paris or Basel inspired these.

The timing for the planned exhibition is ideal. Especially in recent times, there has been a renewed interest in this celebrated international success during her short life but faded into the background after her early death in 1997. For a younger generation, in particular, Hannah Villiger's work contains numerous highly topical themes.

Sculptural 1988/89 Kunstmuseum Basel. Copyright The Estate of Hannah Villiger
Sculptural 1988/89 Kunstmuseum Basel. Copyright Foundation THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER

The exhibition aims to open a broader view of the artist's oeuvre and introduce new themes and questions. Hannah Villiger is thus situated in the contemporary discourse. Therefore, the representation of the female body, the foreign and self-perspective on the physique, the classification in the media discourse, questions of surface, space and body and the objectification of the body are taken into focus. Moreover, in Hannah Villiger's work, the skin - where the human being enters a dialogue with the environment - forms the setting for explosive questions of gender, ethnicity, and woundedness/healing. She radically breaks with what Griselda Pollock describes as "the bodily grammar of western classical sculptures' vision of the female body." The body forms Villiger's material; it is abstracted or deconstructed; it can be human but also of plant or artificial origin. It is fluid and breaks conventional boundaries.


Hannah Villiger's work will be juxtaposed with Alexandra Bachzetsis (b. 1974), Lou Masduraud (b. 1990) and Manon Wertenbroek (b. 1991). Their work will be integrated into the exhibition tour. As a kind of inverted time capsule, they refer to younger, current art production. Hannah Villiger is thus re-read through the lens of the present that surrounds us, and exciting contemporary artists who today are dealing with issues comparable to those that Hannah Villiger addressed in the 1970s to 1990s are presented.

Block XXX  1993/94  Jacques Herzog & Pierre de Meuron Cabinett, Basel. Copyright The Estate of Hannah Villiger
Block XXX 1993/94,  Jacques Herzog und Pierre de Meuron Kabinett, Basel. Copyright Foundation THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER

The exhibition is accompanied by a publication that presents the current state of research on Hannah Villiger's work. The fact that Hannah Villiger is an artists' artist is taken into account in statements by artists who knew her.  In addition, spatial views of the works, some of which are being installed for the first time, are published. With texts by national and international authors. To be published in March 2023, the book launch will be integrated into an interdisciplinary conference.

The project can be realized thanks to the valuable collegial support of Foundation THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER.


Hannah Villiger (b. 1951, Cham, Switzerland; d. 1997, Auw, Switzerland) studied sculpture with Anton Egloff at the School of Applied Arts in Lucerne from 1972 to 1974. In 1974 she received the Swiss Federal Art Scholarship and a scholarship for the Istituto Svizzero in Rome. She lived in Rome until 1977, first at the Istituto Svizzero and then in the Trastevere neighborhood. After that, she moved to Montefalco, Italy, before returning to Switzerland. Starting in 1986 she lived in Paris, and between 1992 and 1996 she held a teaching position at the Basel School of Design. In 1997, she died in Auw (CH) after a long illness.

Hannah Villiger’s artistic work is recognized in Switzerland and internationally. In 1975 she represented Switzerland at the 9th Biennale de Paris alongside John Armleder and Martin Disler, among others. In 1981 she took part of the group exhibition Künstler aus Basel (Artists from Basel) at Kunsthalle Basel, followed by the solo exhibition Neid (Envy) in 1985, curated by Jean-Christophe Ammann. Institutional exhibitions have taken place at Centre culturel suisse, Paris (1986); Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Basel (1988); Kunstverein Frankfurt (1991); and the 22nd Bienal de São Paulo (1994), where she presented her work in the Swiss Pavilion together with Pipilotti Rist. Posthumous solo exhibitions have taken place at Kunsthalle Basel (2001); Kunsthalle Bonn (2001); nGbK Neue Gesellschaft für bildende Kunst, Berlin (2002); MAMCO Musée d’art moderne et contemporain, Geneva (2007); Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Basel (2008); and Centre culturel suisse, Paris (2012). In 2020 and 2021, Villiger’s work was included in group exhibitions at Kolumba, Cologne, and the Museum zu Allerheiligen, Schaffhausen.

International press:

Sutton Comms, London| E: charlottew@suttoncomms.com| T: +44 (0)7809 901890

Exposiziuns Temporaras › Kommende Ausstellung › Hannah Villiger

Hannah Villiger

Muzeum Susch

29. Dezember 2022 - Mai 2023

Kuratiert von Madeleine Schuppli & Yasmin Afschar

Porträt von Hannah Villiger, 1976, Rom, Foto: Trix Wetter. Copyright Stiftung THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER
Porträt von Hannah Villiger, 1976, Rom, Foto: Trix Wetter. Copyright Stiftung THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER

Im Winter/Frühjahr 2023 zeigt das Muzeum Susch eine umfassende Überblicksausstellung der Schweizer Künstlerin Hannah Villiger (1951-1997). Es ist dies die grösste Präsentation seit über 20 Jahren.

Die Ausstellung eröffnet die Möglichkeit, anhand einer umfangreichen Auswahl an Werken die Künstlerin wieder zu entdecken oder auch erstmals kennen zu lernen. Ein Bogen wird geschlagen von ihren in den 1970er-Jahren entstandenen plastischen Arbeiten, zu den Schwarzweiss-Fotografien und den Werken mit der Polaroid Kamera, welche Villiger ab den 1980er-Jahren schuf. Diese fragmentarischen Nahaufnahmen ihres eigenen Körpers wurden über ein Internegativ vergrössert und auf Aluminium aufgezogen einzeln oder zu raumbezogenen Blöcken zusammengefügt.


Werk 1980/81, Aargauer Kunsthaus Aarau. Copyright Stiftung THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER
Werk 1980/81, Aargauer Kunsthaus Aarau. Copyright Stiftung THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER

Gezeigt werden Vintage Prints, bestehende Blöcke sowie Exemplare dieser grossformatigen Arbeiten, die für die Ausstellung in Susch erstmals produziert und damit überhaupt zugänglich gemacht werden. Weitere Entdeckungen stellen Zeichnungen und Papierobjekte aus dem Nachlass dar, welche die Werkauswahl ergänzen. Neben den körperbezogenen Werken schuf Hannah Villiger auch eine Reihe von auf Polaroid basierenden Stadtansichten. Der unmittelbare Blick aus dem Arbeits- und Lebensraum auf das urbane Umfeld in Paris oder Basel lieferte die Inspiration dazu.

Der Zeitpunkt für die geplante Ausstellung ist ideal. Gerade in jüngster Zeit manifestiert sich erneut ein zunehmendes Interesse an dieser Position, die in ihrem kurzen Leben internationale Erfolge feierte, nach ihrem frühen Tod 1997 aber in den Hintergrund geriet. Gerade für eine jüngere Generation finden sich in Hannah Villigers Schaffen zahlreiche Themen, die hochaktuell sind.


Skulptural 1988/89  Kunstmuseum Basel. Copyright Stiftung THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER
Skulptural 1988/89 Kunstmuseum Basel. Copyright Stiftung THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER

Das Ziel der Ausstellung ist es, einen erweiterten Blick auf das Schaffen der Künstlerin zu öffnen und neue Themen- und Fragestellungen einzubringen. Hannah Villiger wird damit im gegenwärtigen Diskurs situiert. So werden die Repräsentation des weiblichen Körpers, die Fremd- und Eigenperspektive auf die Physis, die Einordnung in den Mediendiskurs, Fragen von Oberfläche, Raum und Körper und die Objektivierung des Körpers in den Fokus genommen. Zudem bildet bei Hannah Villiger die Haut – dort wo der Mensch mit seiner Umwelt in Dialog tritt – den Schauplatz brisanter Fragestellungen nach Gender, Ethnie und Versehrtheit/Heilung. Sie bricht radikal mit der, wie es Griselda Pollock beschreibt, «bodily grammar of western classical sculptures’s vision of the female body». Der Körper bildet Villigers Material, er ist abstrahiert oder dekonstruiert; kann menschlichen aber auch pflanzlichen oder künstlichen Ursprungs sein. Er ist fluid und sprengt herkömmliche Grenzen.

Der Arbeit von Hannah Villiger werden drei zeitgenössische Künstler*innen anbei gestellt. Deren Werk wird in den Ausstellungsrundgang integriert. Als eine Art umgekehrte Zeitkapseln verweisen sie auf ein jüngeres, aktuelles Kunstschaffen. Hannah Villiger wird dadurch durch die Linse der uns umgebenden Gegenwart neu gelesen und spannende zeitgenössische Künstler*innen, welche sich heute mit vergleichbaren Fragestellungen wie Hannah Villiger in den 1970er- bis 90er-Jahren beschäftigen, werden vorgestellt.

Block XXX 1993/94 Jacques Herzog & Pierre de Meuron Cabinett, Basel. Copyright Stiftung THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER
Block XXX 1993/94 Jacques Herzog & Pierre de Meuron Cabinett, Basel. Copyright Stiftung THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER

Die Ausstellung wird von einer Publikation begleitet, welche einen aktuellen Forschungsstand zum Schaffen von Hannah Villiger aufzeigt/darlegt. Der Tatsache, dass Hannah Villiger ein artists’ artist ist, wird in Interviews mit Künstler*innen Rechnung getragen. Zudem werden Raumansichten der teils erstmals installierten Arbeiten publiziert. Mit Texten von nationalen und internationalen Autor*innen. Erscheint im März 2023, die Buchvernissage wird in eine interdisziplinäre Tagung eingebunden.

Das Projekt kann dank der wertvollen kollegialen Unterstützung der Stiftung THE ESTATE OF HANNAH VILLIGER realisiert werden.

Hannah Villiger kommt 1951 in Cham (CH), in der Nähe von Luzern (CH) zur Welt. 1971 besucht sie den Vorkurs der Kunstgewerbeschule in Zürich, 1972-74 die Bildhauerklasse bei Anton Egloff an der Schule für Gestaltung in Luzern. 1974 erhält sie das Eidgenössische Kunststipendium sowie ein Stipendium für das Istituto Svizzero in Rom. Bis 1977 lebt sie in Rom (erst im Istituto Svizzero, später in einer Wohnung in Trastevere), dann in Montefalco (IT), danach kehrt sie in die Schweiz zurück und lässt sich in Basel nieder. Ab 1986 lebt sie in Paris. Zwischen 1992 und 1996 hat sie einen Lehrauftrag an der Schule für Gestaltung in Basel. 1997 stirbt sie in Auw (CH) nach längerer Krankheit.


Ihr künstlerisches Schaffen wird in der Schweiz, aber auch international rezipiert. Bereits im Herbst 1975 vertritt sie die Schweiz gemeinsam mit anderen Schweizer Künstlern wie John Armleder oder Martin Disler an der 9e Biennale de Paris, 1981 ist sie Teil der Gruppenausstellung Künstler aus Basel in der Kunsthalle Basel, wo sie der Kurator Jean-Christophe Ammann 1985 mit der Einzelausstellung Neid erneut zeigt, es folgt 1986 eine Einzelausstellung im Centre culturel suisse in Paris, 1988/89 eine im Museum für Gegenwartskunst in Basel. 1991 zeigt sie ihre Arbeiten im Kunstverein Frankfurt, 1994 vertritt sie die Schweiz gemeinsam mit Pipilotti Rist auf der 22. Bienal de São Paulo. Nach ihrem Tod folgen weitere Einzelausstellungen: 2001 in der Kunsthalle Basel und in der Kunsthalle Bonn, 2002 in der nGbK Neue Gesellschaft für Bildende Kunst in Berlin, 2007 im MAMCO Musée d’art moderne et contemporain in Genf, 2008 im Museum für Gegenwartskunst in Basel und 2012 im Centre culturel suisse in Paris. 2020/21 ist ihr Werk Teil von Gruppenausstellungen im Kolumba in Köln und im Museum zu Allerheiligen in Schaffhausen.



Internationale Presse:

Sutton Press| E: charlottew@suttoncomms.com| T: +44 (0)7809 901890