Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Walking Project


“ The challenge is learning how to become attuned and stay open, not continue producing

infrastructures with the mindset of control, command, and exploitation that have gotten us to this point in the first place; how to bring into being forms and structures that enable us to become present within change that is unfolding dynamically; – to stay soft and responsive, to listen and absorb, to move and be moved ”.
(How to Die - Inopiné by Mia Habib)


Walking Project

Following up on our ongoing practice of spreading contemporary dance beyond the walls of theatre spaces combined with the wish for sustainable artistic relationships, the idea of the project „The Big Walk“ came to be. During the residency we will focus on preparing for this ambitious endeavor, which will take place in 2023. The Big Walk is a collective artistic initiative taking the form of a walk undertaken by a group of 9-12 dance practitioners and cultural administrators from Switzerland and Italy respectively.

The walk consists of two routes covering a distance of about 500 kms over a 14-day period. Starting respectively from Bassano del Grappa (IT) and Zürich (CH), two groups will reach the mountains of Switzerland. We plan to make this journey accessible to audiences through a series of informal encounters with local residents and communities by generating artistic exchanges and a sharing of embodied practices. We intend to create an archive of gestures and stories of our walk with the aim to spread sensitization of our environment and local territories.

Being at once a pilgrimage, a walking meditation, a funeral procession, a parade and a demonstration, The Big Walk is a reflection on our present time and on our contemporary society. Along the way, the nomadic artists and cultural administrators will seek to connect with both human and non-human entities.

The Field, The Walkers and The Gardeners are a temporary supra collective, consisting of the Zürich-based dance collective The Field, a group of Italian artists united under Collectivo Base 9, several administrators associated to CSC – Centro Scena contemporanea OperaEstate in Bassano del Grappa and the administrative team of Tanzhaus Zurich.

More about the walk on Instagram: @thebigwalk.2023

Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Walking Project CH/IT

Walking Project CH/IT

Ausgehend von unserer kontinuierlichen Praxis, zeitgenössischen Tanz über die Mauern von Theaterräumen hinaus zu verbreiten, kombiniert mit dem Wunsch nach nachhaltigen künstlerischen Beziehungen, entstand die Idee des Projekts "The Big Walk". Während der Residenz werden wir uns auf die Vorbereitung dieses ehrgeizigen Vorhabens konzentrieren, das im Jahr 2023 stattfinden wird. The Big Walk ist eine kollektive künstlerische Initiative in Form einer Wanderung, die von einer Gruppe von 9-12 Tanzschaffenden und Kulturadministrator*innen aus der Schweiz bzw. Italien unternommen wird.

Der Marsch besteht aus zwei Routen, die über einen Zeitraum von 14 Tagen eine Strecke von etwa 500 km zurücklegen. Ausgehend von Bassano del Grappa (IT) und Zürich (CH) werden sich die beiden Gruppen in den Schweizer Bergen treffen. Wir planen, diese Reise dem Publikum durch eine Reihe von informellen Begegnungen mit den Einwohner*innen und Gemeinschaften vor Ort zugänglich zu machen, indem wir einen künstlerischen Austausch und eine gemeinsame körperliche Praxis anregen. Zudem wollen wir ein Archiv der Gesten und Geschichten unserer Wanderung erstellen, um die Sensibilisierung für unsere Umwelt und die lokalen Territorien zu schärfen.

Der Big Walk ist gleichzeitig eine Pilgerreise, eine Gehmeditation, ein Trauerzug, eine Parade und eine Demonstration und ermöglicht eine Reflexion über unsere Gegenwart und unsere heutige Gesellschaft. Auf ihrem Weg werden die nomadisierenden Künstler*innen und Kulturadministrator*innen versuchen, mit menschlichen und nicht- menschlichen Wesen in Kontakt zu treten.

The Field, The Walkers und The Gardeners sind ein temporäres Supra-Kollektiv, bestehend aus dem Zürcher Tanzkollektiv The Field, einer Gruppe italienischer Künstler*innen, dem Collectivo Base 9, mehreren Administrator*innen des CSC - Centro Scena contemporanea OperaEstate in Bassano del Grappa und dem Verwaltungsteam des Tanzhaus Zürich.

Mehr über den Walk auf Instagram: @thebigwalk.2023