Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Willi Dorner & Lisa Rastl /AT

Willi Dorner & Lisa Rastl /AT

9-18.07.2021

Creative residency for Commission 2021

Acziun Susch is very happy to host Austrian artistic duo Lisa Rastl and Willi Dorner for the residency leading to the creation of the project to be premiered in Susch in September 2021.

The project prepared especially for Muzeum Susch will reflect on the perception and the corporal thinking of our body in built environments in general and as a point of start on the museum in Susch in particular. Its unique architecture AND location, the mountains, encompasses many different spaces that are very specific and the spatial design is of interest besides the artworks that are presented there.

The museum and its architecture we want to put forward and for discussion. We would like to visit it together with Mr Schmidt, a blind pedagogue from Vienna, and experience together with him, and from his point of view, the museum and its spaces. We wish to hear how he senses and conceives the building. Being not visually distracted, he depends on his hearing, smell, temperature and his sense of balance and touch.

Which „im-pression“ does Mr Schmidt get?

„Im-Pression“ is the relevant and appropriate word. The word relies on a bodily experience and expresses a physical experience. Mr Schmidt is closer to all non-visual „impressions“ and he is our source of pieces of information and he can deal better with it, as he is so much dependent on them.

All these pieces of information come in on us at the same time and for us visually oriented people all the non-visual impressions get pushed back in our brain and get overlayed by visual images.

How does he deal with this situation?

How does Mr Schmidt assemble his overall impressions?

How does he proceed?

What does he have to do?

Within their residency, we will have a chance to see one of the previous works of Cie. Willi Dorner – a performance for two called ONE. See here. 

Courtesy Lisa Rastl/ Willi Dorner (Vienna, AT)
Courtesy Lisa Rastl/ Willi Dorner (Vienna, AT)

At the beginning of their cooperation was the project 'Feet of Contemporary Choreographers'. Their common interest in architecture and built environment took them further in collaborating - Lisa Rastl as a photographer and her visual perspective on space and contrary Willi Dorner in his physical practice and his bodily perception of our built surroundings.

The photos, films, the documentary and its descriptions testify and prove their deep understanding of bodies in relationship to space and architecture that they developed throughout their projects over the years.

Their work has been shown in Festivals and art Institutions such as
Art Basel/Basel; Turner Contemporary/Margate/UK; Garage Moscow; Deutsches Hygienemuseum/Dresden/D; National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art/Seoul/Corea; Valetta/Cultural Capital 2018; Riga/Cultural Capital 2014; Lentos/Linz/A; Theatermuseum/Vienna/A; Kunstpavillion/Innsbruck/A; Musee d`art Contemporaine, Vitry-sur Seine, F.


https://www.dornerrastl.at

Acziun Susch › Co-productions & Residencies › Willi Dorner & Lisa Rastl /AT

Willi Dorner & Lisa Rastl /AT

9-18.07.2021

Kreative Residenz für Kommission 2021

Acziun Susch freut sich sehr, das österreichische Künstlerduo Lisa Rastl und Willi Dorner für die Residenz zur Erarbeitung des Projektes, das im September 2021 in Susch uraufgeführt werden soll, begrüßen zu dürfen.

Das speziell für das Muzeum Susch ausgearbeitete Projekt wird die Wahrnehmung und das körperliche Denken unseres Körpers in gebauten Umgebungen im Allgemeinen und als Ausgangspunkt das Museum in Susch im Besonderen reflektieren. Seine einzigartige Architektur UND Lage, die Berge, umfasst viele verschiedene Räume, die sehr spezifisch sind und die räumliche Gestaltung ist von eigenem Interesse neben den Kunstwerken, die dort präsentiert werden.

Das Museum und seine Architektur wollen wir vorstellen und zur Diskussion stellen. Wir möchten es gemeinsam mit Herrn Schmidt, blinden Pädagogen aus Wien, besuchen und mit ihm gemeinsam und aus seiner Sicht das Museum und seine Räume erleben. Wir möchten hören, wie er das Gebäude wahrnimmt und begreift. Da er nicht visuell abgelenkt ist, ist er auf sein Gehör, den Geruchssinn, die Temperatur und seinen Gleichgewichts- und Tastsinn angewiesen.

Welchen "Im-Eindruck" bekommt Herr Schmidt?

"Im-Pression" ist das relevante und passende Wort. Das Wort bezieht sich auf eine körperliche Erfahrung und drückt eine körperliche Erfahrung aus. Herr Schmidt ist näher an allen nicht-visuellen "Eindrücken" und er ist unsere Informationsquelle und kann besser damit umgehen, da er so sehr von ihnen abhängig ist.

All diese Informationen kommen gleichzeitig auf uns zu und für uns visuell orientierte Menschen werden alle nicht-visuellen Eindrücke in unserem Gehirn zurückgedrängt und von visuellen Bildern überlagert.

Wie geht er mit dieser Situation um?

Wie setzt Herr Schmidt seine Gesamteindrücke zusammen?

Wie geht er vor?

Was muss er tun?

Im Rahmen der Residenz werden wir die Möglichkeit haben, eine der früheren Arbeiten von Cie zu sehen. Willi Dorner zu sehen - die Performance für zwei namens ONE. Siehe hier

Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Lisa Rastl/ Willi Dorner (Wien, AT)
Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Lisa Rastl/ Willi Dorner (Wien, AT)

Am Anfang ihrer Zusammenarbeit stand das Projekt "Feet of Contemporary Choreographers". Ihr gemeinsames Interesse an Architektur und gebauter Umwelt führte sie in der Zusammenarbeit weiter - Lisa Rastl als Fotografin und ihre visuelle Perspektive auf den Raum und im Gegensatz dazu Willi Dorner in seiner körperlichen Praxis und seiner körperlichen Wahrnehmung unserer gebauten Umgebung.

Die Fotos, Filme, der Dokumentarfilm und seine Beschreibungen bezeugen und beweisen ihr tiefes Verständnis von Körpern in Beziehung zu Raum und Architektur, das sie in ihren Projekten über die Jahre hinweg entwickelt haben.

Ihre Arbeiten wurden in Festivals und Kunstinstitutionen gezeigt, wie z.B.

Art Basel/Basel; Turner Contemporary/Margate/UK; Garage Moskau; Deutsches Hygienemuseum/Dresden/D; National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art/Seoul/Korea; Valetta/Kulturhauptstadt 2018; Riga/Kulturhauptstadt 2014; Lentos/Linz/A; Theatermuseum/Wien/A; Kunstpavillion/Innsbruck/A; Musee d`art Contemporaine, Vitry-sur Seine, F.

https://www.dornerrastl.at